Jordan House is one of 10 houses that make up a complex of residences known as "the quad." Since the quad is a 10-minute walk from academic buildings and a 15-minute walk to downtown Northampton, many Jordan residents prefer to use bicycles.
The complex was built in stages starting in 1922 to alleviate a housing shortage on campus. When all the quad houses were completed in 1936, William Allan Neilson (then president of Smith College) dubbed it the "Great Quadrangle."
The first three quad houses, Jordan, Cushing and Emerson, were completed in 1922. Jordan House was named for Mary Augusta Jordan, a professor of English at Smith from 1884 to 1921, who was known for her brilliance and eccentric personality.
Jordan House boasts a particularly cozy living room, which is a favorite gathering place for Jordan residents.
About Jordan House
|Approximate number sharing a bathroom||27|
Floor plans are available in Residence Life Self-Service (login required) under "Room Draw"