Skip Navigation
A Culture of Care

Read Smith’s UPDATED plans as of August 5, 2020,
for an entirely remote fall 2020 semester.

Academic Calendar

2020–21, 2021–22

Note that some dates are awaiting final review and may be adjusted. This should not affect start or end dates for the semesters.
 

Fall 2020

Monday, August 24–Wednesday, August 26
Liberal arts advising and registration (online/remote)

Friday, August 28
Last day to add a Five College course (Mount Holyoke)

Friday, August 28–Saturday, August 29
New students arrive

Sunday, August 30–Monday, August 31
Returning students arrive

Monday, August 31
Opening convocation, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, September 1
Fall 2020 Instruction begins, classes begin at 7:45 a.m.
Last day to add a Five College course (Amherst, Hampshire)

Monday, September 7
Labor Day—classes scheduled
Last day to add a Five College course (UMass)

Monday, September 14
Last day to drop or add a course online

To be announced by the president: Mountain Day
Mountain Day is a surprise break from classes. The president chooses a beautiful fall day and announces the holiday by ringing the college bells. Classes scheduled before 7 p.m. are canceled.

TBA: Family Weekend 
Students and their families are invited to participate in remote programming

Monday, November 2–Friday, November 13
Advising and course registration for the spring 2021 semester

Tuesday, November 10: Cromwell Day
Cromwell Day is an annual slate of workshops, lectures, films and entertainment held to honor Smith’s first African American graduate. All classes are canceled.

Tuesday, November 24
Last day of on-campus instruction

Wednesday, November 25
Fall 2020 residential move-out deadline

Wednesday, November 25–Sunday, November 29
Thanksgiving recess 

Monday, November 30
All-remote instruction begins

Friday, December 4
Last day of instruction

Monday, December 7
Mountain Day make-up

Tuesday, December 8–Friday, December 11
Review period

Monday, December 14–Thursday, December 17
Final examinations

Friday, December 18, 2020–Sunday, January 3, 2021
Winter recess 

Monday, January 4
Fall 2020 grades due at noon

Interterm 2021— Extended (6 weeks/28 days)

Monday, January 4
Interterm instruction begins

Friday, January 8
Last day to drop or add a course online; last day to add a course with permission via waiver form

Monday, January 18
Martin Luther King Jr. Day—all classes canceled

Tuesday, January 19
Last day to drop an interterm course

Thursday, February 11
Interterm ends

Friday February 19
Interterm 2021 grades due by noon

Spring 2021

Thursday, February 11–Sunday, February 14
Orientation for entering students

Monday, February 15
Spring 2021 instruction begins, 7:45 a.m.; beginning of add/drop period

Thursday, February 18: Rally Day
Rally Day is highlighted by an all-college convocation at which distinguished alumnae are awarded the Smith College Medal, with a reception to follow. Afternoon classes are canceled. Note: Afternoon classes to be made up on Saturday, February 20

Friday, February 26
Last day to add or drop a course online; last day to add a Five College course

Monday, April 19–Friday, April 30
(Tentative) Advising and course registration for the fall 2021 semester

Friday, May 14
Last day of instruction

Saturday, May 15–Monday, May 17
Pre-examination review period

Tuesday, May 18–Friday, May 21
Final examination period

Saturday, May 22–Friday, May 28
Senior week

Monday, May 24
Senior grades and graduate student grades due by noon

Sunday, May 30
Commencement

Tuesday, June 1
Non-senior grades due


Add the academic calendar to your Smith Google Apps calendar! Under "Other Calendars," type "academiccalendar" into the "Add a coworker's calendar" field. Or get the academic calendar for Apple’s Calendar app.

Please note that dates are subject to change. Visit the registrar’s calendar for detailed dates and deadlines.

Fall 2021

Friday, September 3
Central check-in for new students

Friday, September 3–Wednesday, September 8: Orientation
The week before the start of classes, new students gather to learn about the college and get to know each other.

Tuesday, September 7–Wednesday, September 8, 9 a.m.4 p.m.
Key pick-up (Clark Hall) and move-in for returning students

Wednesday, September 8
Opening convocation, 7 p.m.

Thursday, September 9
Classes begin at 8 a.m.

Wednesday, September 15
Last day to add a course online

Wednesday, September 22
Last day to drop a course online; last day to add a Five College course

Wednesday, September 29
Last day to add a Smith course

To be announced by the president: Mountain Day
Mountain Day is a surprise break from classes. The president chooses a beautiful fall day and announces the holiday by ringing the college bells. Classes scheduled before 7 p.m. are canceled.

Saturday, October 9–Tuesday, October 12
Autumn recess

TBA: Sherrerd Teaching Prize Ceremony
The Sherrerd Prize for Distinguished Teaching is given annually to Smith faculty members selected for their distinguished teaching records and demonstrated enthusiasm and excellence.

TBA: Family Weekend
Students and their families are invited to attend concerts, lectures and panel discussions as well as athletic and social events.

Thursday, November 4: Cromwell Day (tentative)
Cromwell Day provides dedicated time and space for reflection and education about diversity, racism and inclusion. Afternoon and evening classes are canceled.

Monday, November 8–Friday, November 19 (tentative)
Advising and course registration for the spring 2022 semester

Wednesday, November 24–Sunday, November 28
Thanksgiving recess (houses close at 10 a.m. on November 24 and open at 1 p.m. on November 28)

Thursday, December 16
Last day of classes

Friday, December 17–Sunday, December 19
Pre-examination study period

Monday, December 20–Wednesday, December 22
Final examinations (note compressed exam period; self-scheduled exams extend into evening)

Wednesday, December 23, 2021–Sunday, January 2, 2022
Winter recess (houses close at 10 a.m. on December 23 and open at 1 p.m. on January 2)

Thursday, January 6
Fall 2021 grades due

Interterm 2022

Monday, January 3–Friday, January 21
During January interterm, the college is open, but residence is not required. Interterm provides time for students to investigate a special area of interest; to participate in courses, activities and conferences at Smith and other area colleges; to do work in libraries, museums, laboratories, etc.; to participate in internships; to work on research projects; or to enjoy the facilities of the campus at a more leisurely pace. No classes are held on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, January 17.

Houses open for returning students at 1 p.m. on January 2. Students returning from study abroad/away, readmitted students and transfers for the spring semester may move in Monday, January 17; keys may be picked up at Clark Hall from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Spring 2022

Thursday, January 20–Sunday, January 23
Orientation for entering students

Monday, January 24
Classes begin at 8 a.m.

Friday, January 28
Last day to add a course online

Friday, February 4
Last day to drop a course online; last day to add a Five College course

Friday, February 11
Last day to add a Smith course

Thursday, February 17: Rally Day
Rally Day is highlighted by an all-college convocation at which distinguished alumnae are awarded the Smith College Medal, with a reception to follow. Afternoon classes are canceled.

Saturday, March 12–Sunday, March 20 (tentative)
Spring recess (houses close at 10 a.m. on March 12 and open at 1 p.m. on March 20)

Monday, April 4–Friday, April 15
Advising and course registration for the fall 2022 semester

TBA: Celebrating Collaborations
Celebrating Collaborations is Smith’s annual showcase of student research and performance, highlighting the collaborative efforts of students and faculty.

Friday, April 29
Last day of classes

Saturday, April 30–Monday, May 2
Pre-examination study period

Tuesday, May 3–Friday, May 6
Final examinations

Saturday, May 8
Houses close at 10 a.m. for all students except graduates, Commencement workers and those with Five College finals after May 8

Monday, May 9
Senior and graduate student grades due

Sunday, May 15: Commencement
Commencement Weekend is Smith’s final chance to honor its graduating seniors and to observe such traditions as Ivy Day and Illumination Night. The weekend culminates on Sunday when families, friends and seniors gather for the awarding of diplomas.

Monday, May 16
All houses close at noon

Monday, May 16
Non-senior grades due

Saturday, May 19–Sunday, May 22 (tentative) 
Second Reunion Weekend


Add the academic calendar to your Smith Google Apps calendar! Under "Other Calendars," type "academiccalendar" into the "Add a coworker's calendar" field. Or get the academic calendar for Apple’s Calendar app.