Skip Navigation

Emeriti & Retired Faculty

Lanning Fountain Banner Image

Emeriti and retired faculty members are valuable participants in the Smith community. They continue to actively contribute to the intellectual and social life of the college through their scholarship and publications, contact with students and alumnae, and their collegial relations with both current and retired faculty members.

Emeriti Advisory Committee

The Emeriti Advisory Committee provides a direct means of communication between emeriti faculty and the administration. The committee serves as a forum for emeriti faculty ideas and concerns; makes recommendations about policy changes relevant to emeriti faculty; and provides advice to the president, provost and planning committees about issues relevant to emeriti faculty. In planning for retirement, faculty members often have questions about their opportunities and choices for shaping the next phase of their intellectual careers. The advisory board can assist with information and guidance.

Events & Activities

Emeriti Talks

Dewey Hall

Generally with two presentations per semester, these events are held in Dewey Common Room at 4 p.m. with refreshments before and a social hour following the talks.

"This is Japan"

Monday, September 24, 2018, Chester Michalik

"What Is a Life?"

Monday, November 12, 2018,  Sharon Seelig


Out But Not Down (OBND) Meetings

Throughout the academic year, the Out But Not Down group generally meets monthly and enjoys a series of speakers and lunches. Membership is automatic. A letter is sent to recent retirees and new members are introduced at the group’s October meeting. Members also gather for an end-of-the-year dinner in May. There is no charge for membership or meals, and spouses or partners are welcome to accompany emeriti.

OBND Schedule 

Meetings are generally held the first Monday of the month in the Smith College Conference Center. Lunches are at 11:45 a.m. followed by talks. Dinner events are at 5:45 p.m., followed by talks. 

October 1, 2018 (Lunch) Patty DiBartolo
November 5, 2018 (Lunch)

Michael Thurston
“Walking Cape Cod with Henry David Thoreau”

December 3, 2018 (Lunch) End of Semester Celebration

Conference Center


OBND Officers 2018–19

President: Sharon Seelig 
Vice-President: John Connolly 
Secretary: Ruth Solie
Treasurer: Charles Johnson

Emeriti & Retirement Resources


Provost/Dean of the Faculty

College Hall
Smith College
Northampton, MA 01063

Phone: 413-585-3000