Skip Navigation
Read Smith’s COVID-19 guidelines for the spring 2022 semester.

Chairs & Directors

Resources for Chairs

The Smith faculty is committed to a strongly democratic system of governance at the department and program levels. In that spirit, department and program chairs, in consultation with department and program faculty, are responsible for long- and short-term program vision and curricular planning.

Department/Program Name
African Studies Greg White 1
Jeffrey Ahlman2
Africana Studies Daphne Lamothe
American Studies Kevin Rozario
Ancient Studies Barbara Kellum
Anthropology Suzanne Gottschang
Archaeology Barbara Kellum
Archives Concentration Kelly Anderson
Art Frazer Ward
Art (Associate Chair) Lindsey Clark-Ryan
Arts & Technology Barbara Kellum
Astronomy James Lowenthal
Biochemistry Cristina Suarez
Biological Sciences Rob Dorit
Book Studies Concentration Lily Gurton-Wachter
Buddhist Studies Andy Rotman
Chemistry Betsy Jamieson
Classical Languages & Literatures Nancy Shumate
Community Engagement & Social Change Concentration Nnamdi Pole
Computer Science Joseph O'Rourke
Dance Lester Tome
East Asian Languages & Cultures Sujane Wu
Economics Roisin O'Sullivan
Education & Child Study Sam Intrator
Engineering Andrew Guswa
English Language & Literature Ambreen Hai
Environmental Concentration Denise McKahn
Joanne Benkley
Environmental Science & Policy Leslie King
Ethics Susan Levin
Exercise & Sport Studies Sarah Witkowski
Exercise & Sport Studies (Associate Chair) Lynn Oberbillig
Film & Media Studies Alexandra Keller
First-Year Seminars Richard Millington
French Studies Dawn Fulton
Geosciences Amy Rhodes
German Studies Joel Westerdale
Global Financial Institutions Concentration Mahnaz Mahdavi
Global South Development Studies Greg White
Government Mlada Bukovansky
History Richard Lim
History of Science & Technology Jeffry Ramsey
Italian Studies Giovanna Bellesia
Jewish Studies Justin Cammy
Landscape Studies Steve Moga
Latin American & Latino/a Studies Dana Leibsohn
Linguistics Jill de Villiers
Marine Science & Policy Paulette Peckol
L. David Smith
Mathematics & Statistics Luca Capogna
Medieval Studies Joshua Birk
Middle East Studies Steven Heydemann
Museums Concentration Jessica Nicoll
Music Joel Pitchon
Neuroscience Lisa Mangiamele
Philosophy Jay L. Garfield
Physics Nathanael Fortune
Poetry Concentration Matt Donovan
Psychology MJ Wraga
Public Policy Donald Baumer
Religion Andy Rotman
Russian, Eastern European and Eurasian Studies Sergey Glebov
Sociology Payal Banerjee
South Asian Studies Nalini Bhushan
Spanish & Portuguese Malcolm McNee
Statistical and Data Sciences Ben Baumer
Study of Women & Gender Elisabeth Armstrong
Theatre Kiki Gounaridou1
Kiki Smith2
Translation Studies Concentration Reyes Lázaro
Urban Studies Steven Moga
World Literatures

Anna Botta1

Katwiwa Mule2

1Fall , 2Spring

Department/Program Name Extension
African Studies David Osepowicz 3572
Africana Studies David Osepowicz 3572
American Studies Jeanette Wintjen 3503
Ancient Studies Lisa DeCarolis-Osepowicz 3510
Anthropology Jeanette Wintjen 3503
Archaeology Rebecca Davis 3102
Archives Concentration Veeka Trofimova 3352
Art Eva Weber  
Art Rebecca Davis 3102
Astronomy Laura Fountain-Cincotta 3349
Biochemistry Amy Avard 3806
Biological Sciences Elizabeth Iola Sylvan 6598
Book Studies Concentration Veeka Trofimova 3352
Buddhist Studies Phoebe McKinnell 3662
Chemistry Amy Avard 3806
Classical Languages & Literatures Jennifer Roberts 3302
World Literature Jennifer Roberts 3302
Community Engagement & Social Change Concentration Madeline DelVicario 3060
Computer Science Daryl Jett 3804
Dance Martha Potyrola 3232
East Asian Languages & Cultures Kathleen Gauger 3591
Economics Makayla Poissant 3520
Education & Child Study Marjorie Postal 3250
Engineering Kristin Morse 7000
English Language & Literature Jennifer Roberts 3302
Environmental Concentration Veeka Trofimova 3352
Environmental Science & Policy Deirdre Quirk 3704
Exercise & Sport Studies Justin Allard 3970
Film and Media Studies Anna Goudreau 3152
French Studies Cora Lee Drew 3056
First-Year Seminars Cora Lee Drew 3056
Geosciences Amy Avard 3806
German Studies Kathleen Gauger 3591
Global Financial Institutions Concentration Veeka Trofimova 3352
Global South Development Studies David Osepowicz 3414
Government Lisa DeCarolis-Osepowicz 3510
History Elizabeth Krauza 3679
History of Science & Technology Daryl Jett 3804
Italian Studies Kathleen Gauger 3591
Jewish Studies Lorraine Hedger 3390
Landscape Studies David Osepowicz 3414
Latin American & Latino/a Studies Elizabeth Krauza 3679
Marine Sciences Five College Program
Mathematics & Statistics Amy Avard 3806
Medieval Studies Elizabeth Krauza 3679
Middle East Studies Lisa DeCarolis-Osepowicz 3510
Music Anna Goudreau 3152
Music Jaz Tupelo Dand 3150
Neuroscience Kristin Morse 7000
Philosophy Phoebe McKinnell 3662
Physics Laura Fountain-Cincotta 3349
Poetry Concentration Veeka Trofimova 3352
Psychology Laura Fountain-Cincotta 3349
Public Policy Lisa DeCarolis-Osepowicz 3702
Religion Phoebe McKinnell 3662
Russian, Eastern European and Eurasian Studies Phoebe McKinnell 3662
Sociology Jeanette Wintjen 3503
South Asia Studies Phoebe McKinnell 3662
Spanish & Portuguese Lorraine Hedger 3390
Statistical and Data Sciences Daryl Jett 3804
Study of Women & Gender Lorraine Hedger 3390
Theatre Alicia Guidotti 3204
Theatre Lisa Rizzo 3202
Translations Studies Concentration Veeka Trofimova 3352
Urban Studies David Osepowicz 3414
Kahn Institute Christine Reynolds 3721

Monthly Meetings With Deans

Chairs have regular meetings with the deans. Unless otherwise noted, meetings take place on Mondays from 12:15 - 1:30 p.m. Tote lunches are provided during meetings. Chairs Notebook


Date Time & Location
August 30, 9:00-12:00 Chairs Retreat & Orientation
Campus Center, Carroll Room
August 31, 9:00-12:00 Chairs Retreat & Orientation
Campus Center, Carroll Room
September 12 Conference Center, Paradise Room
October 3 Conference Center, Paradise Room
November 7 Conference Center, Paradise Room
December 5 Conference Center, Paradise Room
February 13 Conference Center, Paradise Room
March 20 Conference Center, Paradise Room
April 17 Conference Center, Paradise Room
May 8 Conference Center, Paradise Room