Skip Navigation

Prizes & Judges


Draper Competition for Collegiate Women Entrepreneurs

Neilson Library, Room 103
Smith College
Northampton, MA 01063
Add me to your distribution list

Phone: 413-585-3653
Fax: 413-585-3655
The top prize-winning team at the 2019 Draper Competition holding a check.
2019’s top prize-winning team.

This year’s competition provides more than $100,000 in cash and prizes, including a $25,000 cash prize as well as a Draper University Scholarship for the Grand Prize winner.

2022 Prize Winners

Grand Prize: $25,000 + scholarship to Draper University Heroes Training

Inferno Guard (Johns Hopkins University)

2nd Place: $20,000 + scholarship to Draper University Heroes Training

Kai Pono Solutions (San Diego State University)
Ritual Glaze Co. (Smith College)
ThermOptik (Johns Hopkins University)

Special Recognition: $2,000

ClosetSwitch (Washingto University in St. Louis)
Kairos Music (Babson College)

Finalists: $1,500

Bene Lares (Western New England University)
Cue the Curves (Northwestern University)
Sotira (University of California, Berkeley)
Yakha (Bryn Mawr College)

Keep it Goin': $1,000

Bed Wheelchair for Immobile Patients (Johns Hopkins University)
CA' Buddy (Davidson College)
EthosSphere (Cornell University)
Lolwe Textiles (Augustana University)
Lucrativity (Smith College)

Fan Favorite: $1,000

ThermOptik (Johns Hopkins University)

*Prizes and amounts solely determined by Competition Judges

2022 Judges

Past Winners

For the first time in competition history, we have TWO Grand Prize Winners

Grand Prize:

  • Sani (NC State University)
  • SkyPaws (Texas A&M)

Track Winner:

  • Diotex (John Hopkins University)
  • Hydrophos Solutions (University of New Hampshire)

Track Runners Up:

  • Bantu (Vanderbuilt University)
  • Bridg Career (University of Southern California)
  • Hearing Glasses (Minnesota State University)
  • Vaila (Fayetteville State University)

Honorable Mentions:

  • Campus Can Crushers (University of Idaho)
  • EZ Stride (Western New England University)
  • Innovating Environmental Health (Babson College)
  • nisa EFFECT (University of Houston)
  • Schoolhouse Simulations (University of Idaho)
  • Swally (Stetson University)

Pitch Track Winner:

  • Martha's Passions (Landmark College)

Pitch Track Runner Up:

  • The Movement (Xavier University of Louisiana)

Pitch Track Honorable Mentions:

  • Kai Pono Solutions (San Diego State University)
  • Microbe Blaster (UMass-Amherst)
  • UltraMatria (Eastern Washington University)

All finalists were granted scholarships to Draper University.

Grand Prize Winner
Emma Butler '20, Brown University

Track Winners

Just Drive, Southern Methodist University
Ndriana Agro LLC, Skidmore College

Track Winner Ties

Block, Smith College
Em Pads, Oklahoma State University
Solupal, University of St. Thomas
Spara, Smith College

Track Runners up
Eliza, Smith College
Lilac Feminine Care, Texas Christian University
ReBokeh, Bucknell University
Honorable Mentions

BioFuture, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Exit 42 Media, Hobart and William Smith College
KISA, Smith College
Qubit, Cornell University
Sani, North Carolina State University

Fan Favorite
Just Drive, Southern Methodist University


Grand Prize Winner - $25,000

Locker Lifestyle - Product Track #1
Katarina Samardzija '19, Grand Valley State University

Additional prizes: $10,000 scholarship to Draper University plus 2-day, all expenses paid trip to Tampa, FL for 2 sponsored by Embarc Collective and in-kind prizes from Hubspot for Startups, IndieDoGood and Shoobx

Track Winners - $10,000

  • KnoNap, Danya Sherman '19, George Washington University
  • Early Intervention Systems, Nathalya Ramirez '19, George Washington University
  • Tongo Wata, Hawa Tarawally AC'21, Smith College
  • LOU, Rachel Pardue '19, Babson College

Each of these teams will also receive a $5,000 scholarship to Draper University, and in-kind prizes from Hubspot for Startups, IndieDoGood and Shoobx

Runner's Up - $5,000

  • AZUZA Beverage (Cal State Polytechnic)
  • PainterPrinter (Hampshire College)
  • Afra Cafe (Smith College)
  • Strides (Oklahoma State University)
  • Prolitfic (University of Texas, Austin)

Each of these teams will also receive a $2,000 scholarship to Draper University

Honorable Mentions - $1,500

  • Raspberry Farm (Illinois Institute of Tech)
  • Neurochi Meditation (University of Idaho)
  • Spark (Smith College)
  • Informer (University of Oregon)
  • VELV (University of New Hampshire)

Fan Favorites - $500

  • Machai (Smith College)
  • Tress It Up (Smith College)
  • CulFood (Mount Holyoke College)
  • Tongo Wata (Smith College)
  • UniSell (Smith College)

Special Prizes

  • Western Mass Innovation Jam Prize ($500): Blink Tek (Western New England University)
  • Conway Center 5College Prize - 1st Place ($1,000): Let's Talk About It (UMass Amherst)
  • Conway Center 5College Prize - 2nd Place ($750): Willow Denim (Mount Holyoke College)
  • Conway Center 5College Prize - 3rd Place ($500): MassBoard (UMass Amherst)

First Place: $20,000 + $10,000 scholarship to Draper University
Busy Beauty: Jamie Steenbakkers '18 and Michael Leahy '18 (not pictured), Babson College

Second Place: $15,000 + scholarship to Draper University
The Forever Shower: Maria Horta Vorse '18, Alex Boatman '19 (not pictured) and Edward Hall '19 (not pictured), University of Idaho

Third Place: $10,000 + scholarship to Draper University
ReBike: Anmei Zhi '20, Nouhaila Norredine '20 and Elaona Lemoto '20, Smith College

2018 Finalist Team Leaders: $1,000

  • Alz You Need, Leda Rosenthal '18 (Colgate University)
  • Fida, Zoleka Mosiah '19 (Smith College)
  • HF Magnet, Samatha Farley '18 (West Virginia University)
  • Spin, Oumayma Koulouh '19 (Smith College)
  • Survival of the Fitted, Rachel Laflamme '20 (Smith College)
  • Therapalz, Fiona Kalensky '18 (University of Illinois)
  • Zapp Technology, Giovanna Jimenez '18 (University of Houston)

Special Prize Winners

Fan Favorite: $1,000
The Lunch Buddy: Hannah Kelsey '20, Vivian Nelson '20, Haley Markos '20 and Frances Duncan '20, Smith College

Best App: $1,000
Hurdit: Brianna Moore '18 and Leigh Miller '18 (not pictured), Smith College

Conway Center Five College Prizes

First Place: $1,000
Duo Display: Kate Meacham '20 (Mount Holyoke College), Alessandra Massa '19 (Mount Holyoke College, not pictured) and Bryce Paquette '18 (Western New England University)

Second Place: $750
Anchor: Romina Gupta '20 (Mount Holyoke College) and Abhinav Karthikeyan '20 (Boston College, not pictured)

Third Place: $500
Painter Printer: Darleane Torres '21 (Hampshire College) and Joseph Mendoza '21 (Clarkson University)

First Place: $10,000 + $10,000 scholarship to Draper University
ImmunoGo, Emily Morris '19 (Smith College)

Second Place: $7,500 + $7,500 scholarship to Draper University
The Ekari Book Series, Pricilla Semphere '18 (Smith College)

Third Place (tied): $2,500 + $2,500 scholarship to Draper University
Sugaway, Danya Abutaleb '19 (University of Virginia)
Vescenece, Kiran Meghani '17 & Arsheen Menon '17 (University of Houston)

2017 Finalist Team Leaders: $500

Ask Betti, Natasha Jadavji '17 (Smith College)
BuddyRides, Lisa Feiden '18 (Smith College)
MedAhead, Vivian Wang '19 (Smith College)
Noted, Nicolette Ocasio '19 (Cornell University)
ReBike, Nouhaila Norredine '20 (Smith College)
Resound, Lynn Luong '19 (Hofstra University)

Fan FavoriteSanitary Solutions, Sarah Price '18 & Katie Christensen '19 (Smith College)

Best App: ReBike, Nouhaila Norredine '20, Elaona Lemoto '20 & Amnei Zhi '20 (Smith College)

Conway Center Five College Prizes:

  1. Tiwale, Ellen Chilemba (Mount Holyoke);
  2. Travel Unicorn, Carly Forcade (Mount Holyoke) & MejiH2O, Rebecca Onyango (Mount Holyoke)
  3. We've Met, Molly Palmer (UMass - Amherst)

House Prizes: Tenney House - 72% of house members present; Park House - Most Attendees