Skip Navigation

Dates & Deadlines

Fall 2022

Thursday, September 1 Central check-in for new students

Friday, September 2
1:45 - 3:00 p.m.

Registration for entering students
Tuesday, September 6
8:00 a.m.
  • Classes begin
  • Beginning of add/drop period
Monday, September 12 Last day to:
  • add a Smith course online
  • submit a special studies form
Monday, September 19 Last day to:
  • drop a course online
  • add course via course eligibility waiver (permission) form
  • add a Five College course
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • submit music lesson form
Monday, September 26 Last day to:
  • add a Smith course with class dean permission
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Saturday, October 8-Tuesday, October 11 Fall Break
Friday, October 14 Last day to:
  • drop a full-semester course
  • free drop or change grading option in a first-half-semester course (contact your class dean)
Monday, October 17

Faculty: Mid-semester grades due

Monday, November 7–Friday, November 18 Advising and registration for spring 2023
Wednesday, November 9 Last day to:
  • change grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • free drop a full semester course (contact your class dean)
Tuesday, November 15 Cromwell Day (morning and afternoon classes only canceled)
Wednesday, November 23–Sunday, November 27 Thanksgiving break
Wednesday, November 30 Last day to free drop or change grading option in a second-half-semester course (contact your class dean)
Friday, December 9 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Tuesday, December 13

Classes end

Wednesday, December 14–Saturday, December 17 Pre-examination study period
Sunday, December 18–Wednesday, December 21 Final examinations
Thursday, December 22–Sunday, January 1

Winter recess

Friday, January 6, 2023
12:00 p.m. (Noon)
Faculty: Final grades due for fall semester

Interterm 2023

Wednesday, January 4 Interterm instruction begins
Add/drop dates vary by course
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (all classes canceled)
Tuesday, January 24

Interterm ends

Friday, February 3
12:00 p.m. (Noon)

Faculty: Interterm grades due

Spring 2023

TBD Orientation for entering students (first-years, Adas, and transfer students)
Thursday, January 26
8:00 a.m.
  • Classes begin
  • Beginning of add/drop period
Wednesday, February 1 Last day to:
  • add a Smith course online
  • submit a special studies form
Wednesday, February 8 Last day to:
  • drop a course online
  • add course via course eligibility waiver (permission) form
  • add a Five College course
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • submit music lesson form
Wednesday, February 15 Last day:
  • to add a Smith course with class dean permission
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Thursday, February 23 Rally day (afternoon classes canceled)
Wednesday, March 1 Last day to:
  • drop a full-semester course
  • free drop or change the grading option in a first-half-semester course (contact your class dean)
Saturday, March 11-Sunday, March 19 Spring break
Monday, March 20 Faculty: Mid-semester grades due
Monday, April 3–Friday, April 14 Advising and registration for Fall 2023
Wednesday, April 5

Last day to:

  • Change the grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • use free drop option (contact your class dean)
Wednesday, April 19 Last day to free drop or change grading option in second-half semester course
Monday, April 24 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Thursday, May 4 Classes end
Friday, May 5–Monday, May 8 Pre-examination study period
Tuesday, May 9–Friday, May 12 Final examinations
Monday, May 15 Faculty: senior grades and graduate student grades due by 12:00 p.m (Noon)
Sunday, May 21 Commencement
Monday, May 22 Faculty: non-senior grades due 12:00 p.m. (Noon)

Fall 2023

Friday, September 1 Central check-in for new students
TBD Registration for entering students
Thursday, September 7
8:00 a.m.
  • Classes begin
  • Beginning of add/drop period
Wednesday, September 13 Last day to:
  • add a Smith course online
  • submit a special studies form
Wednesday, September 20 Last day to:
  • drop a course online
  • add course via course eligibility waiver (permission) form
  • add a Five College course
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • submit music lesson form
Wednesday, September 27 Last day to:
  • add a Smith course with class dean permission
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Saturday, October 7-Tuesday, October 10 Fall Break
Friday, October 13 Last day to:
  • drop a full-semester course
  • free drop or change grading option in a first-half-semester course (contact your class dean)
Monday, October 16

Faculty: Mid-semester grades due

Thursday, November 2 Cromwell Day (morning and afternoon classes only canceled)
Monday, November 6–Friday, November 17 Advising and registration for spring 2024
Friday, November 10 Last day to:
  • change grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • free drop a full semester course (contact your class dean)
Wednesday, November 22–Sunday, November 26 Thanksgiving break
Wednesday, November 29 Last day to free drop or change grading option in a second-half-semester course (contact your class dean)
Friday, December 8 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Thursday, December 14

Classes end

Friday, December 15–Sunday, December 17 Pre-examination study period
Monday, December 18–Thursday, December 21 Final examinations
Friday, December 22–Monday, January 2

Winter recess

Friday, January 5, 2024
12:00 p.m. (Noon)
Faculty: Final grades due for fall semester

Interterm 2024

Wednesday, January 3 Interterm instruction begins
Add/drop dates vary by course
Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (all classes canceled)
Tuesday, January 23

Interterm ends

Friday, February 2
12:00 p.m. (Noon)

Faculty: Interterm grades due

Spring 2024

TBD Orientation for entering students (first-years, Adas, and transfer students)
Thursday, January 25
8:00 a.m.
  • Classes begin
  • Beginning of add/drop period
Wednesday, January 31 Last day to:
  • add a Smith course online
  • submit a special studies form
Wednesday, February 7 Last day to:
  • drop a course online
  • add course via course eligibility waiver (permission) form
  • add a Five College course
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • submit music lesson form
Wednesday, February 14 Last day:
  • to add a Smith course with class dean permission
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Thursday, February 22 Rally day (afternoon classes canceled)
Wednesday, February 28 Last day to:
  • drop a full-semester course
  • free drop or change the grading option in a first-half-semester course (contact your class dean)
Saturday, March 16-Sunday, March 24 Spring break
Monday, March 25 Faculty: Mid-semester grades due
Wednesday, April 3

Last day to:

  • Change the grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • use free drop option (contact your class dean)
Monday, April 8–Friday, April 19 Advising and registration for Fall 2024
Wednesday, April 17 Last day to free drop or change grading option in second-half semester course
Monday, April 29 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Thursday, May 2 Classes end
Friday, May 3–Monday, May 6 Pre-examination study period
Tuesday, May 7–Friday, May 10 Final examinations
Monday, May 13 Faculty: senior grades and graduate student grades due by 12:00 p.m (Noon)
Sunday, May 19 Commencement
Monday, May 20 Faculty: non-senior grades due 12:00 p.m. (Noon)