Skip Navigation

Dates & Deadlines

Fall 2018

Friday, August 31
8:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m.
Central Check-In for entering students
Wednesday, September 5 Advising and registration for entering students
Wednesday, September 5 Opening Convocation
Thursday, September 6
8 a.m
  • Classes begin
  • Add/drop on BannerWeb opens at 8 a.m. (new Reg code required)

Wednesday, September 12

Last day to:

  • add a Smith course online
  • submit special studies form
Wednesday, September 19 Last day to:
  • drop a course online
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • add course via waiver (permission) form
  • add a Five College course
  • submit music lesson form
Wednesday, September 26 Last day:
  • to add a Smith course
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Saturday, October 6–Tuesday, October 9 Fall break
Friday, October 12 Last day to:
  • drop a course
  • free drop or change grading option in first-half-semester course
Monday, October 15 Faculty: Mid-semester grades due
Thursday, November 1 Otelia Cromwell Day (afternoon and evening classes canceled)
Monday, November 5–Friday, November 16 Advising and registration for spring 2019
Friday, November 9 Last day to:
  • change grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • use free drop option (see your class dean)
Wednesday, November 21–Sunday, November 25 Thanksgiving break
Wednesday, November 28 Last day to free drop or change grading option in second-half-semester course
Monday, December 10 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Thursday, December 13 Classes end
Friday, December 14–Monday, December 17 Pre-examination study period
Tuesday, December 18–Friday, December 21 Final examinations
Saturday, December 22–Tuesday, January 1

Winter recess

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
9 a.m.
Faculty: Final grades due for fall semester

Interterm 2019

Thursday, January 3–Wednesday, January 23 Interterm
Add/drop dates for Inteterm vary by course. See Interterm Registration for more information.
Monday, January 21 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, no classes
Friday, February 1 Faculty: Interterm grades due

Spring 2019

Monday, January 21-Wednesday, January 23 Orientation for entering students
Thursday, January 24
8 a.m.
  • Classes begin
  • Add/drop on BannerWeb opens at 8 a.m. (new Reg code required)

Wednesday, January 30

Last day to:

  • add a Smith course online
  • submit special studies form
Wednesday, February 6 Last day to:
  • drop a course online
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • add course via waiver (permission) form
  • add a Five College course
  • submit music lesson form
Wednesday, February 13 Last day:
  • to add a Smith course
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Wednesday, February 20 Rally Day (afternoon classes canceled)
Wednesday, February 27 Last day to:
  • drop a course
  • free drop or change grading option in first-half-semester course
Saturday, March 9–Sunday, March 17 Spring break
Monday, March 18 Faculty: Mid-semester grades due
Monday, April 1–Friday, April 12 Advising and registration for Fall 2019
Wednesday, April 3 Last day to:
  • change grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • use free drop option (see your class dean)
Wednesday, April 17 Last day to free drop or change grading option in second-half-semester course
Monday, April 29 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Thursday, May 2 Classes end
Friday, May 3–Monday, May 6 Pre-examination study period
Tuesday, May 7–Friday, May 10 Final examinations
Monday, May 13 Faculty: senior grades due:
  • departmental honors seniors by 9 a.m.
  • other seniors & graduate students by 4 p.m.
Sunday, May 19 Commencement
Monday, May 20 Faculty: non-senior grades due

Fall 2019

Friday, August 30
8:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m.
Central Check-In for entering students
Wednesday, September 4 Advising and registration for entering students
Wednesday, September 4 Opening Convocation
Thursday, September 5
8 a.m
  • Classes begin
  • Add/drop on BannerWeb opens at 8 a.m. (new Reg code required)

Wednesday, September 11

Last day to:

  • add a Smith course online
  • submit special studies form
Wednesday, September 18 Last day to:
  • drop a course online
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • add course via waiver (permission) form
  • add a Five College course
  • submit music lesson form
Wednesday, September 25 Last day:
  • to add a Smith course
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Friday, October 11 Last day to:
  • drop a course
  • free drop or change grading option in first-half-semester course
Saturday, October 12–Tuesday, October 15 Fall break
Friday, October 18 Faculty: Mid-semester grades due
Thursday, November 7 Otelia Cromwell Day (afternoon and evening classes canceled)
Monday, November 4–Friday, November 15 Advising and registration for spring 2020
Friday, November 8 Last day to:
  • change grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • use free drop option (see your class dean)
Tuesday, November 26 Last day to free drop or change grading option in second-half-semester course
Wednesday, November 27–Sunday, December 1 Thanksgiving break
Monday, December 9 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Thursday, December 12 Classes end
Friday, December 13–Monday, December 16 Pre-examination study period
Tuesday, December 17–Friday, December 20 Final examinations
Saturday, December 21–Monday, January 5

Winter recess

Wednesday, January 8, 2020
9 a.m.
Faculty: Final grades due for fall semester

Interterm 2020

Monday, January 5–Friday, January 24 Interterm
Add/drop dates for Inteterm vary by course. See Interterm Registration for more information.
Monday, January 20 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, no classes
Monday, February 3 Faculty: Interterm grades due

Spring 2020

Thursday, January 23-Sunday, January 26 Orientation for entering students
Monday, January 27
8 a.m.
  • Classes begin
  • Add/drop on BannerWeb opens at 8 a.m. (new Reg code required)

Friday, January 31

Last day to:

  • add a Smith course online
  • submit special studies form
Friday, February 7 Last day to:
  • drop a course online
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • add course via waiver (permission) form
  • add a Five College course
  • submit music lesson form
Friday, February 14 Last day:
  • to add a Smith course
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Wednesday, February 19 Rally Day (afternoon classes canceled)
Friday, February 28 Last day to:
  • drop a course
  • free drop or change grading option in first-half-semester course
Saturday, March 14–Sunday, March 22 Spring break
Monday, March 23 Faculty: Mid-semester grades due
Monday, March 30–Friday, April 10 Advising and registration for fall 2020
Friday, April 3 Last day to:
  • change grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • use free drop option (see your class dean)
Friday, April 17 Last day to free drop or change grading option in second-half-semester course
Monday, April 27 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Friday, May 1 Classes end
Saturday, May 2–Monday, May 4 Pre-examination study period
Tuesday, May 5–Friday, May 8 Final examinations
Monday, May 11 Faculty: senior grades and graduate student grades due by 12:00pm (noon)
Sunday, May 17 Commencement
Monday, May 18 Faculty: non-senior grades due