Skip Navigation

Dates & Deadlines

Fall 2016

Friday, September 2
8:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m.
Central Check-In for entering students
Wednesday, September 7 Advising and registration for entering students
Wednesday, September 7 Opening Convocation
Thursday, September 8
8 a.m
  • Classes begin
  • Add/drop on BannerWeb opens at 8 a.m. (new Reg code required)
Wednesday, September 21 Last day to:
  • add/drop a course online
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • submit permission via green waiver form
  • add a Five College course
Wednesday, September 28 Last day:
  • to add a Smith course
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Saturday, October 8–Tuesday, October 11 Fall break
Friday, October 14 Last day to:
  • drop a course
  • free drop or change grading option in first-half-semester course
Monday, October 17 Faculty: Mid-semester grades due
Thursday, November 3 Otelia Cromwell Day (afternoon and evening classes canceled)
Monday, November 7–Friday, November 18 Advising and registration for spring 2017
Friday, November 11 Last day to:
  • change grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • use free drop option (see your class dean)
Wednesday, November 23–Sunday, November 27 Thanksgiving break
Wednesday, November 30 Last day to free drop or change grading option in second-half-semester course
Friday, December 9 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Thursday, December 15 Classes end
Friday, December 16–Sunday, December 18 Pre-examination study period
Monday, December 19–Thursday, December 22 Final examinations
Friday, December 23–Monday, January 2 Winter recess

Interterm 2017

Wednesday, January 4–Tuesday, January 24 Interterm
Add/drop dates for Inteterm vary by course. See Interterm Registration for more information.
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, no classes
Friday, February 3 Faculty: Interterm grades due

Spring 2017

TBD Orientation for entering students
Thursday, January 26
8 a.m.
  • Classes begin
  • Add/drop on BannerWeb opens at 8 a.m. (new Reg code required)
Wednesday, February 8 Last day to:
  • add/drop a course online
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • submit permission via green waiver form
  • add a Five College course
Wednesday, February 15 Last day:
  • to add a Smith course
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Thursday, February 23 Rally Day (afternoon classes canceled)
Wednesday, March 1 Last day to:
  • drop a course
  • free drop or change grading option in first-half-semester course
Saturday, March 11–Sunday, March 19 Spring break
Monday, March 20 Faculty: Mid-semester grades due
Monday, April 3–Friday, April 14 Advising and registration for fall 2017
Wednesday, April 5 Last day to:
  • change grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • use free drop option (see your class dean)
Wednesday, April 19 Last day to free drop or change grading option in second-half-semester course
Monday, May 1 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Thursday, May 4 Classes end
Friday, May 5–Monday, May 8 Pre-examination study period
Tuesday, May 9–Friday, May 12 Final examinations
Monday, May 15 Faculty: senior grades due:
  • departmental honors seniors by 9 a.m.
  • other seniors & graduate students by 4 p.m.
Sunday, May 21 Commencement
Monday, May 22 Faculty: non-senior grades due