Skip Navigation

Dates & Deadlines

Fall 2017

Friday, September 1
8:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m.
Central Check-In for entering students
Wednesday, September 6 Advising and registration for entering students
Wednesday, September 6 Opening Convocation
Thursday, September 7
8 a.m
  • Classes begin
  • Add/drop on BannerWeb opens at 8 a.m. (new Reg code required)

Wednesday, September 13

  • Last day to add a Smith course online
Wednesday, September 20 Last day to:
  • drop a course online
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • submit permission via green waiver form
  • add a Five College course
  • submit special studies or music lesson forms
Wednesday, September 27 Last day:
  • to add a Smith course
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Saturday, October 7–Tuesday, October 10 Fall break
Friday, October 13 Last day to:
  • drop a course
  • free drop or change grading option in first-half-semester course
Monday, October 16 Faculty: Mid-semester grades due
Thursday, November 2 Otelia Cromwell Day (afternoon and evening classes canceled)
Monday, November 6–Friday, November 17 Advising and registration for spring 2018
Friday, November 10 Last day to:
  • change grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • use free drop option (see your class dean)
Wednesday, November 22–Sunday, November 26 Thanksgiving break
Wednesday, November 29 Last day to free drop or change grading option in second-half-semester course
Monday, December 11 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Thursday, December 14 Classes end
Friday, December 15–Monday, December 18 Pre-examination study period
Tuesday, December 19–Friday, December 22 Final examinations
Saturday, December 23–Monday, January 1

Winter recess

Monday, January 8, 2018
9 a.m.
Faculty: Final grades due for fall semester

Interterm 2018

Wednesday, January 3–Tuesday, January 23 Interterm
Add/drop dates for Inteterm vary by course. See Interterm Registration for more information.
Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, no classes
Friday, February 2 Faculty: Interterm grades due

Spring 2018

Monday, January 22-Wednesday, January 24 Orientation for entering students
Thursday, January 25
8 a.m.
  • Classes begin
  • Add/drop on BannerWeb opens at 8 a.m. (new Reg code required)

Wednesday, January 31

  • Last day to add a Smith course online
Wednesday, February 7 Last day to:
  • drop a course online
  • add/drop a first half semester course
  • submit permission via green waiver form
  • add a Five College course
  • submit special studies or music lesson forms
Wednesday, February 14 Last day:
  • to add a Smith course
  • for Ada Comstock Scholars to drop a course without financial consequence
Wednesday, February 21 Rally Day (afternoon classes canceled)
Wednesday, February 28 Last day to:
  • drop a course
  • free drop or change grading option in first-half-semester course
Saturday, March 10–Sunday, March 18 Spring break
Thursday, March 22 Faculty: Mid-semester grades due
Monday, April 2–Friday, April 13 Advising and registration for fall 2018
Wednesday, April 4 Last day to:
  • change grading option in Smith course
  • add/drop a second-half-semester course
  • use free drop option (see your class dean)
Wednesday, April 18 Last day to free drop or change grading option in second-half-semester course
Monday, April 30 Faculty: Exam copies due in registrar's office
Thursday, May 3 Classes end
Friday, May 4–Monday, May 7 Pre-examination study period
Tuesday, May 8–Friday, May 11 Final examinations
Monday, May 14 Faculty: senior grades due:
  • departmental honors seniors by 9 a.m.
  • other seniors & graduate students by 4 p.m.
Sunday, May 20 Commencement
Monday, May 21 Faculty: non-senior grades due