Skip Navigation

Inclusion Council

A student in the library stacks, choosing a book

The Inclusion Council was established in 2009. The council works with the vice president for equity and inclusion to promote and achieve Smith’s diversity and social justice goals. Membership includes faculty, staff and students from key constituencies on campus.



  • Floyd Cheung, Professor of English Language and Literature
  • Andrea Hairston, Louise Wolff Kahn Professor of Theatre
  • Marianne Yoshioka, Dean of the School for Social Work and Elizabeth Marting Treuhaft Professor


  • Dana Olivo, Area Coordinator, Student Affairs
  • Beth Raffeld, Senior Vice President for Alumnae Relations and Development
  • Laura Rauscher, Disability Services Director
  • L'Tanya Richmond, Dean of Multicultural Affairs
  • Deborah Wijnhoven, Associate Director, Lazarus Center for Career Development; Director of Employer Relations


  • Sofia Goetz ’19
  • Laura Kelly-Bryant ’21
  • Whitney Mutalemwa ’20

Mission Statement

The mission of the Inclusion Council is to ensure that Smith College’s values of inclusion, diversity and equity are inherent in the relationships, practices and activities of its students, staff and faculty. The members of the council will broadly consider how Smith can embed and elevate these values within our community culture. Specifically, we will:

  • Proactively identify areas of focus for expanding work on inclusion, diversity and equity
  • Provide strategic advice and recommendations to the president and the administration on systemic ways of responding to campus issues
  • Engage with the campus community to gather everyone’s best thinking to make Smith the standard-bearer for work on inclusion
  • Review and evaluate the college’s training and education efforts
  • Review and evaluate campus policies and practices with an eye to ensuring a campus climate built on inclusiveness, mutual respect, education, appreciation and understanding
  • Hold the community and ourselves accountable for upholding our commitments to inclusion, diversity and equity
  • Keep the Smith community informed of its progress