Skip to main content

The Inclusion Council was established in 2009. The council works with the vice president for equity and inclusion to promote and achieve Smith’s diversity and social justice goals. Membership includes faculty, staff and students from key constituencies on campus.



  • Jennifer Malkowski, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
  • Marianne Yoshioka, Dean of the School for Social Work and Elizabeth Marting Treuhaft Professor
  • Mariyana Zapryanova, Assistant Professor of Economics 
  • Jessica Gersony, Assistant Professor of Biological Studies


  • Janet Spongberg, Circulation Coordinator, Libraries 
  • Stacey Steinbach, Assistant Director for Development, Residence Life
  • Laura Rauscher, Disability Services Director
  • L'Tanya Richmond, Dean of Multicultural Affairs
  • Barbara Solow, Assistant Director, College Relations
  • Deborah Wijnhoven, Associate Director, Lazarus Center for Career Development; Director of Employer Relations
  • Maria Held, Senior Director of Class Engagement and Philanthropic Support, Office of Alumnae Relations and Development
  • Kelsey Parks Smith, Instructional Coordinator, Jandon Center for Community Engagement 
  • Ash Sabripour, Administrative Assistant for the Student Affairs Office


  • Anna Gullace '25
  • Betty Pu '24
  • Giovanna Rocchio '23 
  • Lissie Lu '26
  • Mia Hwang AC

Mission Statement

The mission of the Inclusion Council is to offer grounded perspectives on how inclusion, diversity and equity -- inherent in the relationships, practices and activities of students, staff and faculty -- are playing out at Smith College. The members of the council shall advise the Vice President for Equity and Inclusion on what’s working well and how the College can improve.