Skip Navigation

The Sophia Smith Award

The Sophia Smith Award was established in 1996 by the Board of Trustees to honor the college’s founder and benefactor, Sophia Smith, on the bicentennial of her birth. The trustees sought to honor individuals like Sophia Smith who, by virtue of their intelligence, energy, vision and courage, have made significant and lasting contributions to the education of women.


  • Ruth Bader Ginsburg, February 19, 1997
  • Ruth J. Simmons, May 3, 2001