Skip to main content

Vice President for Alumnae Relations

June 4, 2019

Dear students, staff and faculty:

I am delighted to announce the appointment of Denise Wingate Materre ’74 as our new vice president for alumnae relations. She will be a member of my Cabinet, reporting to Beth Raffeld, senior vice president for alumnae relations and development. She will take up her position on August 26.

Denise has more than 20 years of experience as a consultant to for-profit, nonprofit and educational organizations. She has a strong focus on developing women leaders, advancing diversity and inclusion and helping to enhance and grow organizations. In addition to her Smith degree, she holds a doctorate in leadership for educational equity from the University of Colorado and a master’s degree in education from the College of New Jersey. She previously worked for AT&T Bell Laboratories, Bell Communications Research, and the Cultural Unity Student Center at the University of Colorado.

I first met Denise at an alumnae event in Denver, where she currently resides. An active member of the Smith Club of Colorado, she is a committed and engaged alumna, devoted to Smith. She exudes positivity. Her talents and experience will serve Smith and its alumnae well as we enter a new phase of partnership with the Alumnae Association, in alignment with a newly integrated and combined Office of Alumnae Relations and Development.

Please join me in thanking the members of the search committee, chaired by Beth Raffeld, for their thoughtful and dedicated work. They are: Ginetta Candelario ’90, professor of sociology and of Latin American & Latino/a Studies; Monica Dean, director of the Jill Ker Conway Innovation & Entrepreneurship Center; David DeSwert, associate vice president for finance; Sandra Doucett, associate vice president for development; Laurie Fenlason, vice president for public affairs and strategic initiatives;  Rachel Gerstein ’84, Erika Rodriguez ’06 and Vickie Shannon ’79, all members of the Alumnae Association of Smith College Board of Directors; and Dina Venezky '92, executive director of non-degree programs.

Please join me in welcoming Denise back to Smith.


Kathleen McCartney