Skip to main content

Faculty Tenure and Promotions Announced

Research & Inquiry

Statue of a woman gazing downward contemplatively

Published March 1, 2023

At its meeting in February, the Smith College Board of Trustees approved tenure and promotion recommendations for 20 faculty members, effective July 1.

Promoted to associate professor with tenure were Alexander Barron, environmental science and policy; Alexis Callender, art; Colin Hoag, anthropology; Pinky Hota, anthropology; Albert Y. Kim, statistical and data sciences; Timothy Recuber, sociology; Bozena Welborne, government; Hannah Karpman, School for Social Work; and Peggy O'Neill, School for Social Work.

Promoted to professor were Jeffrey Ahlman, history; Ben Baumer, statistical and data sciences; Annaliese Beery, psychology; Jack Loveless, geosciences; Raj Mehta, mathematical sciences; and Will Williams, physics.

Promoted to senior lecturer were Jennifer Beichman, mathematical sciences; Reid Bertone-Johnson, landscape studies; and Mike Kinsinger, engineering.

Judith Wopereis, biological sciences, was promoted to senior laboratory instructor.

Yona Harvey, Tammis Day Professor of Poetry, was appointed professor with tenure.

President Kathleen McCartney congratulated the faculty members on their “well-deserved promotions.”