Skip to main content

Faculty Approved for Tenure, Promotion

News of Note

Sixteen faculty members were approved for tenure and promotion, effective July 1

Pink blossoms on a flowering tree in front of the campus center

Published February 29, 2024

At their meeting in February, members of the Smith College Board of Trustees approved tenure and promotion recommendations for 16 faculty members, effective July 1.

Promoted to full professor were: David Gorin, chemistry; Mehammed Mack, French studies; Caroline Melly, anthropology; Elizabeth Pryor, history; Jeffry Ramsey, philosophy; and Andrea Stone, English language and literature.

Appointed as professor with tenure was Crystal Fleming, Africana studies.

Promoted to associate professor with tenure were Maleka Donaldson, education and child study; Lesley-Ann Giddings, chemistry; Alicia Grubb, computer science; Katherine Kinnaird, computer science and statistical and data sciences; Sara Newland, government; Erin Pineda, government; and Geremias Polanco, mathematical sciences.

Appointed as Chaired Professor with tenure was Richa Nagar, Gloria Steinem ’56 Endowed Chair in Women and Gender Studies, study of women and gender.

Promoted to senior laboratory instructor was Scott Edmands, biochemistry.

President Sarah Willie-LeBreton congratulated the faculty members on their “well deserved promotions.”