Skip Navigation
A Culture of Care >> Read Smith’s plans for the spring 2022 semester.

Current Operating Mode: BLUE

Action and Impact

Students discussing environmental data


Smith College’s sustainability work is informed and led by a set of strategic plans and policies including the college’s Strategic Plan, the Study Group on Climate Change Recommendations, existing and emerging goals and actions for equity and inclusion, and more.

Explore Our Actions and Impact

The Committee on Sustainability is concerned with the best long-term use of finite natural resources and the college's impact on the local, regional and global environment. It identifies, implements and evaluates approaches for increasing Smith's commitment to sustainability in all areas of the campus, including (but not limited to) construction, transportation, materials and energy use, waste management, purchasing, investment and the campus curriculum. It will also monitor the college’s progress toward meeting the recommendations from the Study Group on Climate Change and report annually to the community.

Committee on Sustainability Members

Chris Aiken, Professor, Dance

Alexander Barron, Assistant Professor, Environmental Science & Policy

Jim Gray, Associate VP of Facilities and Operations

Timothy Johnson, Director, Smith College Botanic Garden

Denise McKahn, Associate Professor, Engineering

Amy Rhodes, Professor, Geosciences

Dano Weisbord, Director of Sustainability and Campus Planning