Skip Navigation

College Council on Community Policy

Campus Aerial

The Smith College Council on Community Policy is a broadly representative, deliberative group that meets to consider matters that concern the campus community. In its deliberations, and working in concert with others on campus as appropriate, the "College Council" addresses issues of common concern. Its mission concerns the well-being of the community — its capacity for collegiality and the pursuit of the commonwealth while providing an excellent education to women.



  • Irene Rodriguez Martin, Associate Dean, School for Social Work
  • Fraser Stables, Art (2016) 
  • Susan Stratton Sayre, Economics (2016)
  • Nathan Derr, Biology (2017)
  • Christen Mucher, American Studies (2017)
  • TBD


  • Ashavan Doyon, Student Affairs (2016)
  • Beth Bone, Controller’s Office (2016)
  • Michael Ireland, Student Financial Services (2017)
  • Karen Sise, Registrar's Office (2018)
  • Stacey Steinbach, Student Affairs (2018)
  • Xinh Spangler, Facilities (2017)


  • Katherine Rowe, Provost/Dean of the Faculty, ex-officio (non-voting)
  • Danielle Ramdath, provost’s designee; co-chair
  • Kathleen McCartney, President, ex-officio (non-voting)
  • Laurie Fenlason, Vice President for Public Affairs and Strategic Initiatives, ex-officio
  • Donna Lisker, Dean of the College, ex-officio
  • Margaret Bruzelius, Dean of the College designee; co-chair
  • Dwight K. Hamilton, Chief Diversity Officer, ex-officio
  • Ralph J. Gould, Jr., Chief of Police (Scott Graham serves as the chief’s designee)
  • Laura Smiarowski, Controller, ex-officio
  • Samuel A. Masinter, Director of College Relations, ex-officio


  • Najwa Alsheikh ’16
  • Harleen Kaur ’16 (SGA)
  • Julia Collins ’17 (SGA)
  • Katie Wing (Ada Cabinet)
  • Alexys Butler ’16
  • Tegan Waring ’17

Smith College Alumnae Association

  • Barbara Williams (Appointed by the Director of the Alumnae Association)

City of Northampton

  • Gina Louise Sciarra, City Councilor (Ward 4)
  • Paul Spector, City Councilor (Ward 2)