2017 Sherrerd Prizes

A Day to Honor Great Teaching

Time: 45:34

Smith places a high value on teaching, and each year demonstrates that commitment by honoring three outstanding faculty members with the Sherrerd Prize for Distinguished Teaching. Mark Brandriss, senior lecturer in geosciences, Ginetta Candelario ’90, professor of sociology and Latin American and Latino/a studies, and Laura A. Katz, Elsie Damon Simonds Professor of Biological Sciences, were the recipients of the 2017 Sherrerd Prizes for Distinguished Teaching. The Sherrerd Prize for Distinguished Teaching was established in 2002 with a generous grant from Kathleen Compton Sherrerd ’54 and John J. F. Sherrerd.