2013 Sherrerd Prizes: A Day to Honor Great Teaching

Time: 2:58

Smith places a high value on teaching, and each year demonstrates that commitment by honoring three outstanding faculty members with the Sherrerd Prize for Distinguished Teaching. This year’s Sherrerd Prize recipients are Andrea Hairston '74, professor of theatre; Susannah Howe, senior lecturer in engineering; and Douglas Lane Patey, professor of English language and literature. Awards were presented during a lively program featuring introductions by former students. The Sherrerd Prize for Distinguished Teaching was established in 2002 with a generous grant from Kathleen Compton Sherrerd ’54 and John J. F. Sherrerd.