About the Department
The Major
The Minor
Masters Program
Study Abroad
Production History
Performing Groups
Faculty and Staff
2013-14 Season
Performing Arts Calendar
Five College Theater
Mission Statement

Related Link

Master's Program

Adviser: Leonard Berkman

This program provides specialized training to candidates who have demonstrated professional promise in playwriting. The Department of Theatre places great emphasis on collaborative work among designers, performers, directors and writers, offering a unique opportunity for playwrights to have their work nurtured and supported by others who work with it at various levels.

Interested students may consult Professor Leonard Berkman.


Sixty-four credit hours, including a thesis, and two years of residence are required. In a two-year sequence, a student would have eight required courses in directing, advanced playwriting and dramatic literature and a total of eight electives at the 300 level or above, with the recommendation that half be in dramatic literature. Electives may be chosen from acting, directing and design/technical courses and from courses outside the department and in the Five Colleges.

To count toward the degree, all work must receive a grade of at least B-minus, but the degree will not be awarded to a student who has no grade above this minimum.


  1. Theatre 198a and 199b as the basis
  2. One four–credit course of the student's choice (including, as an option, four credits of 200 Theatre Production)
  3. Six courses, including one semester course approved by an adviser, in each of three of the following different divisions: