Skip Navigation

COVID-19 Updates, Restrictions, Cancellations - More information


COVID-19 Incident Response Team

The COVID-19 incident response team meets daily to issue guidance to—and set policies for—the Smith community in response to the COVID-19 disease.

Guiding Principles

  1. Prioritize the safety of the Smith community through an expert approach informed by public health guidance.
  2. Aim to ensure the continuity of student experience through responsive and equitably-applied policy changes.

CIRT Membership

  • David DeSwert, Vice President for Finance and Administration
  • Patricia DiBartolo, Associate Dean of the Faculty
  • Samantha Earp, Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
  • Susan Etheredge, Dean of the College and Vice President for Campus Life
  • Laurie Fenlason, Vice President for Strategic Initiatives
  • Jim Gray, Associate Vice President for Facilities and Operations
  • Samuel Masinter, Interim Vice President for Public Affairs
  • Kathleen McCartney, President
  • Joanna Olin, Chief of Staff
  • Bill Peterson, Associate Provost
  • Michael Thurston, Provost and Dean of the Faculty