Smith College School for Social Work BannerWeb
Summer Information

Campus policies on events

  • All arrangements for supplies, food and services are the responsibility of the students organizing the event.
  • Students must reserve campus space utlizing 25Live and adhere to the rules and regulations pertaining to the particular site.
  • Students must abide by the College's Social Events Accessibility Policy.Students should consult the Event Accessibilities Guidelines [PDF] for detailed considerations.
  • Students or student organizations will be held responsible for any damage incurred.
  • Per campus policy all parties and other events must end by 1:00am.

Alcohol Policy

  • Various statutes of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and regulations of the Alcohol Beverage Control Commission govern the sale, acquisition, possession, transportation and consumption of alcoholic beverages. The following is a summary of College policies regarding the serving of alcohol at parties:
  • No alcohol will be served to any person under 21 years of age.
  • No alcohol may be brought into a licensed facility (Campus Center, Smith College Club) or to any College-sponsored party.
  • All party participants must bring a valid picture I.D. to sponsored parties (driver's license with picture, birth certificate, passport). I.D.'s will be checked and persons will be wrist-banded.
  • The Dining Services staff is the only staff on campus that can arrange for alcohol to be served at parties on campus and coordinate the sale of alcohol at desired events.
  • A public safety officer must be on duty at all student-operated events where alcohol is served. Students hosting the event are responsible for hiring and compensating the safety officer.
  • Alcohol may only be served during legal hours to persons of legal age who are not intoxicated. The College reserves the right to control service at any party. Please remember that in Massachusetts it is a criminal offense for anyone to serve alcohol to a person under 21, and that the punishment of this crime can be up to a year in jail and a $2000 fine. This law covers both public and private events, including dinner parties, department events, receptions, and even the serving of alcohol to students in a private home.