Skip Navigation

Anti-Racism Consultation Committee

The Anti-Racism Consultation Committee (ARCC) was formed in 1995 for the purpose of (a) monitoring and assessing SSW's progress toward becoming an anti-racism institution and (b) providing consultation to any SSW community members who experience or observe situations of institutional racism through their tenure at the SSW. Members of SSW are also free to consult with the Smith College Office of Institutional Diversity.

The members of the ARCC include the dean, the associate dean of academic affairs, the associate dean of graduate enrollment and student services, two faculty members, 6-10 first- and second-year students, including representatives from the Council for Students of Color and from E4, the student leadership organization, the Marta Sotomayor Fellow, 4-6 alumni representatives and representatives from the SSW staff.

The ARCC aims to bring ever greater transparency to the anti-racism work of SSW. Our meeting agendas, minutes and summaries are available to all. You may also read ARCC reports spanning 2005–2011.

2017 Committee Members

  • Associate Dean Peggy O’Neill 
  • Dean Marianne Yoshioka 
  • Professor Rory Crath 
  • Professor Joanne Corbin 
  • Associate Dean Irene Rodriguez Martin
  • Associate Field Director Katelin Lewis-Kulin 
  • Doreen Underdue, representative of SSW support staff 
  • Kai Lynch, student representative of Council for Students of Color 
  • Robyn Shigemitsu, student representative of Asian Student Group 
  • Brianna Suslovic, student representative of QTPOC Student Group 
  • Shilpa Trivedi, student representative of the Executive Three 
  • Elise Trujillo, student representative of the Gender & Sexuality Alliance