About the Department
The Major
Courses and Curriculum
Study Abroad
Awards and Prizes
Career Options
News & Events


Conference Travel Awards

Sociology majors who are presenting work at professional conferences may apply for travel awards from the Sociology Department to help defray travel costs. The amount of the award depends on the availability of funds and the cost of travel, but awards do not normally exceed $200. Applicants must submit the application to the Chair of the Sociology Department no later than 8 weeks prior to the conference presentation. Priority will be given to students who have not previously received the award. Please note that financial support is contingent on the availability of department funds. If awarded funding, students will need to submit receipts to the department upon return. Please type into the application.

Application for Conference Travel Award



Wahrsager Scholarship

The Smith College Department of Sociology awards the Wahrsager Scholarship every year to senior sociology majors who demonstrate high level of scholarship, intellectual promise, character, and leadership. The scholarship fund makes a significant contribution toward the tuition fees of the recipients during the senior year at Smith. The recipients may also apply to the department for an additional year of support toward expenses for the first year of graduate work in sociology providing award recipient enrolls as a full-time student within two academic years following graduation from Smith. Interested students may obtain additional information from their major advisers.

Most recent recipient of the prize:

The Samuel Bowles Prize

Each spring, the sociology department awards the Bowles Prize to a major for the most distinguished paper written by a senior during the academic year.

Most recent recipient of the prize:

The Arthur Shattuck Parsons Memorial Prize

The sociology department awards the Arthur Shattuck Parsons Memorial Prize each year to student(s) with outstanding paper(s) in sociological theory or its application.

Most recent recipients of the prize: