Kirby Jambon

A native of Lafourche Parish in Louisiana, KIRBY JAMBON‘s parents instilled in him a pride in his Cajun heritage and Louisiana French language. His passion for his culture is evident in his work as a teacher, activist, actor, storyteller, and writer. Jambon’s poems have appeared in journals in three countries. He’s the author of two books, L’Ecole Gombo, awarded the 2006 Prix Mondes Francophones, and Petites Communions: Poèmes, chansons, et jonglements, awarded the 2014 Prix Henri de Régnier from the Académie Française. The Academy’s citation described Jambon as an “exquisite poet in the tradition of Villon and Marot,” who, “for his lyricism and humor, deserves to be more well-known.”

Presented by French Studies