Smith College Admission Academics Student Life About Smith news Offices
Smith eDigest
Submit an Idea
Five College Calendar
News Publications
Planning an Event
Contact Us

Honoring Those Who Teach and Inspire at Smith

Professors at Smith are dedicated scholars and active researchers. They belong to top organizations like the National Academy of Sciences, lead national academic groups and are regularly recognized for scholarly contributions and groundbreaking research.
But of all that Smith professors accomplish in higher education, nothing may be as powerful as their role in teaching, inspiring and mentoring students.

On October 23, four faculty members will be recognized for their distinguished teaching records and demonstrated enthusiasm and excellence. They will receive the annual Kathleen Compton Sherrerd ’54 and John J. F. Sherrerd Prizes for Distinguished Teaching.

They are Mary Harrington, Tippit Professor in Life Sciences; Sabina Knight, associate professor of East Asian languages and literatures; Borjana Mikic, associate professor of engineering; and Kevin Quashie, associate professor of Afro-American studies.

In fall 2002, Kathy and Jay Sherrerd provided a generous gift to Smith College to establish a new set of annual prizes to recognize the sustained and distinguished teaching records of long-time faculty and to encourage younger faculty whose demonstrated enthusiasm and excellence influence students and colleagues. This will be the fifth round of Sherrerd Awards.

The selection process is rigorous. A committee of faculty and students annually reviews nomination letters from students, faculty, staff and alumnae throughout the community. From a narrowed list, the committee then reviews data such as student course evaluations, advising records, contributions to the college curriculum, participation in teaching workshops and other teaching activities. From the final short list, the award recipients are then chosen after committee members observe classes and conduct interviews with candidates’ colleagues.

Visit for more information about the 2007 award winners.

DirectoryCalendarCampus MapVirtual TourContact UsSite A-Z