Faculty Members Approved for Tenure and Promotion

At their meeting earlier this month, the Smith College Board of Trustees approved tenure and promotion recommendations for 13 faculty members.

Promoted to full professor were Ginetta Candelario, sociology; Floyd Cheung, English language and literature; Elizabeth Jamieson, chemistry; and James Miller, economics.

Promoted to associate professor with tenure were Chris Aiken, dance; Joshua Birk, history; Brent Durbin, government; David Gorin, chemistry; Angie Hauser, dance; John Loveless, geosciences; and Elizabeth Stordeur Pryor, history.

Ruth Ozeki has been appointed as professor with tenure in the Department of English Language and Literature.

Promoted to senior lecturer from lecturer was Bruno Grazioli, Italian studies.

President Kathleen McCartney congratulated the faculty members on their “well deserved promotions.”

Smith, which is one of the largest women’s liberal arts colleges in the country, has a faculty of 293.