Smith Bids Farewell to Retiring Faculty Members

At a luncheon held earlier this month, President Kathleen McCartney thanked this year’s faculty retirees for their 309 years of combined service to the college.

“Each of these faculty members has contributed to the Smith community through teaching, research and service,” McCartney said. “They have transformed many lives as mentors and role models for generations of Smith students. They will be missed.”

Faculty members retiring this year are:

  • Peter Bloom, Grace Jarcho Ross 1933 Professor of Humanities and Professor of Music
  • Dean Flower, professor of English language and literature
  • Paula Giddings, Elizabeth A. Woodson 1922 Professor of Africana Studies
  • Justina Gregory, Sophia Smith Professor of Classical Languages and Literatures,
  • Ruth Haas, Achilles Professor of Mathematics and Statistics
  • Robert Hosmer, senior lecturer in English language and literature
  • Robert Linck, professor of chemistry
  • Phoebe Porter, lecturer in Spanish and Portuguese
  • Christine Shelton, professor of exercise and sport studies