Smith College Admission Academics Student Life About Smith news Offices
Five College Calendar
Smith eDigest
Submit an Idea
News Archive
News Publications
Planning an Event
Contact Us
News & Events
   Date: 2/17/10 Bookmark and Share

Rally Day 2010 Award Winners

Among its other celebrations and festivities, Rally Day provides an annual opportunity to honor Smith community members with several different awards. Here's a list of award winners from this year's event:

Faculty Teaching Award

Given annually by students to one non-tenured and one tenured faculty member to honor their dedication to excellent teaching, the Faculty Teaching Award was established 22 years ago as a way for students to thank educators for their support, encouragement and inspiration. This year's recipients are Susan Levin, associate professor of philosophy (tenured faculty award); and Nnamdi Pole, associate professor of psychology (non-tenured faculty award).

Nnamdi Pole Susan Levin
Nnamdi Pole
Associate Professor of Psychology
Susan Levin
Associate Professor of Philosophy

Elizabeth B. Wyandt Gavel Award

Given annually by students to Smith staff members "who have given extraordinarily of themselves to the Smith College community as a whole." Established in 1984, the Gavel Award is administered by the Student Government Association. This year's recipients are Julie Toico, housekeeper in Wilson House; and James Hume, shop supervisor/technician, art deparment.

Julie Toico James Hume
Julie Toico
Housekeeper, Wilson House
James Hume
Shop Supervisor, Art Department

Smith College Medal

Established in 1962, the Smith College Medal is given annually to those alumnae who exemplify in their lives and work the true purpose of a liberal arts education. This year's recipients are senior judge Stephanie Kulp Seymour ’62; professor of mathematics T. Christine Stevens ’70; librarian Sarah E. Thomas ’70; citizens’ advocate Danielle Brian ’85; and activist/coach Luma Mufleh ’96.

2010 Medalists

Left to right: Stephanie Kulp Seymour ’62, T. Christine Stevens ’70, Sarah E. Thomas ’70, Danielle Brian ’85, and Luma Mufleh ’96

DirectoryCalendarCampus MapVirtual TourContact UsSite A-Z