Smith College Admission Academics Student Life About Smith news Offices
Five College Calendar
Smith eDigest
Submit an Idea
News Archive
News Publications
Planning an Event
Contact Us
News & Events

Rally Day 2008 Award Winners

Among its other celebrations and festivities, Rally Day provides an annual opportunity to honor Smith community members with several different awards. Here's a list of award winners from this year's event on Feb. 20:

Faculty Teaching Award
Given annually by students to one junior and one senior faculty member to honor their dedication to excellent teaching, the Faculty Teaching Award was established 20 years ago as a way for students to thank educators for their support, encouragement and inspiration. This year's recipients are Patricia Skarda, professor of English language and literature (tenured faculty award); and Lucy Mule, assistant professor of education and child study (non-tenured faculty award).

Elizabeth B. Wyandt Gavel Award
Given annually by students to Smith staff members "who have given extraordinarily of themselves to the Smith College community as a whole." Established in 1984, the Gavel Award is administered by the Student Government Association. This year's recipients are Jayne Mercier, administrative assistant, interdisciplinary studies; and Edna Howe, housekeeper in Park House.

Smith College Medal
Established in 1962, the Smith College Medal is given annually to those alumnae who exemplify in their lives and work the true purpose of a liberal arts education. This year's recipients are Irene Cebula Baird ’45; The Reverend Anne Clayton Brower ’60; Catherine T. Hunt ’77; Lella Gandini AC ’78; and Tammy Baldwin ’84.

View a gallery of the 2008 Rally Day ceremonies

DirectoryCalendarCampus MapVirtual TourContact UsSite A-Z