Smith College Admission Academics Student Life About Smith news Offices
Five College Calendar
Smith eDigest
Submit an Idea
News Archive
News Publications
Planning an Event
Contact Us
News & Events

Rally Day 2007 Award Winners


Photo Gallery

Students and others model their hats last week before Rally Day
Beverly Byrne, senior housekeeper, was one of several award winners at Rally Day
More than 700 students filled the Campus Center for the Rally Day Carnival

Among its other celebrations and festivities, Rally Day provides an annual opportunity to honor Smith community members with several different awards. Here's a list of award winners from this year's event:

Faculty Teaching Award
Given annually by students to one junior and one senior faculty member to honor their dedication to excellent teaching, the Faculty Teaching Award was established 20 years ago as a way for students to thank educators for their support, encouragement and inspiration. This year's recipients are Jill de Villiers, Sophia and Austin Smith Professor of Psychology (senior award); and Floyd Cheung, assistant professor of English language and literature (junior award).

Elizabeth B. Wyandt Gavel Award
Given annually by students to Smith staff members "who have given extraordinarily of themselves to the Smith College community as a whole." Established in 1984, the Gavel Award is administered by the Student Government Association. This year's recipients are Physical Plant staff members Beverly Byrnes, senior housekeeper, and James Littles, residential custodian.

Smith College Medal
Established in 1962, the Smith College Medal is given annually to those alumnae who exemplify in their lives and work the true purpose of a liberal arts education. This year's recipients are Sarah Chasis ’69, environmental lawyer; Mary Ann Hoberman ’51, children’s author; Carolyn Kaelin ’83, physician; Amy-Jill Levine ’78, feminist biblical scholar; and Trudy Rubin ’65, journalist.

2/26/07   Eric Sean Weld
DirectoryCalendarCampus MapVirtual TourContact UsSite A-Z