Smith College Admission Academics Student Life About Smith news Offices
Smith eDigest
Submit an Idea
Five College Calendar
News Publications
Planning an Event
Contact Us
News & Events


December 12, 2006

Dennis Hudson, professor emeritus of world religions and a Smith faculty member since 1970, died last weekend. A memorial service will be held for Hudson in early 2007. During his career at Smith, Hudson had become renowned as one of America’s foremost scholars of the religions of India. The College Hall flag was lowered to half staff on Dec. 11 in Hudson’s memory and a funeral service was held on Dec. 12.


Marsha Kline Pruett, the Maconda Brown O’Connor Chaired Professor in the School for Social Work, has been named a winner of the 2007 Richard Manware Humanitarian Award from the Coordinating Council for Children in Crisis (CCCC), an organization that fights child abuse, neglect and victimization through home visits, parenting education, counseling and advocacy. “Dr. Kline Pruett’s groundbreaking research and clinical experience has led to a new understanding about healthy child and family development, particularly during difficult life transitions, and has resulted in new protocols that improve outcomes for children,” said Cheryl Burack, executive director of CCCC. The late Richard Manware was a member of the CCCC Board of Directors, until his death in 1998, who was active in several charities and known as a tireless and effective advocate for the vulnerable and disenfranchised, explained Burack. “Choosing an award recipient each year is a way to honor his memory and send a message to the community about the need for services that protect children and strengthen families.” Pruett will receive the award during National Child Abuse Prevention Month in April 2007.

Catherine T. Hunt ’77, who will assume the presidency on January 1, 2007, of the American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society, has been awarded the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellowship. The fellowship is given to AAAS members by their peers. Hunt was elected an AAAS fellow “for leadership in promoting innovation, understanding, and appreciation of, and in furthering innovation within, the chemical enterprise across organizational and institutional boundaries,” according to an announcement of fellowship winners in the News & Notes section of the Nov. 24 edition of the journal Science. Hunt, an executive with Rohm and Haas, a specialty materials company based in Philadelphia, will join 448 other fellowship recipients in receiving a certificate and an honorary pin on February 17, during the AAAS Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

Index of People News 2005-06



About People News

People News is a column for publicizing the achievements, distinctions and notable activities of people in the Smith community, PeopleNews welcomes your submissions. If you -- or someone you know in the Smith community -- have recently received an award, participated in an interesting event, or are involved in an important endeavor, please let us know.


12/1/06   Eric Sean Weld
DirectoryCalendarCampus MapContact UsSite A-Z