Smith College Admission Academics Student Life About Smith news Offices
Smith eDigest
Submit an Idea
Five College Calendar
News Publications
Planning an Event
Contact Us
News & Events

Nominations Sought for Second Sherrerd Teaching Awards

Last April, four faculty members were named the first winners of the Kathleen Compton Sherrerd ’54 and John J. F. Sherrerd Prizes for Distinguished Teaching, an annual award given to faculty in recognition of their distinguished teaching records and demonstrated enthusiasm and excellence. The awards were made possible by a generous contribution to Smith by Kathy and Jay Sherrerd.

The winners of the first Sherrerd Teaching Prizes were David Cohen, professor of mathematics; Shizuka Hsieh, assistant professor of chemistry; Mahnaz Mahdavi, associate professor of economics; and Vittoria Poletto, senior lecturer in Italian language and literature.

More than 100 candidates for the award were nominated last year by students, fellow faculty members, administrators and alumnae.

Now it’s time to nominate the second round of Sherrerd Teaching Prize winners from among Smith’s faculty. Four faculty members will again be chosen for this year’s award, which will be presented during a public ceremony on April 5, 2005, at 4:30 p.m. in Sweeney Concert Hall, Sage.

Nominations are sought from the entire Smith community for faculty members deserving of this recognition. Nominations should include a short statement explaining why the nominee deserves a teaching award. Submit nominations no later than Monday, November 22, either via email, to, or campus mail to Sherrerd Committee, c/o Hayley Spizz, College Hall 27.



DirectoryCalendarCampus MapContact UsSite A-Z