Smith College Admission Academics Student Life About Smith news Offices
Smith eDigest
Submit an Idea
Five College Calendar
News Publications
Planning an Event
Contact Us
News & Events

27 New Faculty Members Join Smith Community

This fall, Smith College welcomes 27 new faculty members in every academic sector of campus-the humanities, the sciences, social sciences, art and the performing arts. In all, 18 departments have added new faculty.

Below is a list of new faculty members and their respective departments. Watch this site for subsequent profiles of new Smith community members.

Afro-American studies: Daphne Lamothe

Anthropology: Keisha-Kahn Perry (Mendenhall Fellow)

Art: Susan Kart

Biological sciences: Michael Barresi, Denise Lello

Comparative Literature: Nawal El Saadawi (Neilson Professor)

Computer science: Brendan Burns

Dance: Amie Dowling

East Asian languages and literatures: David Hinton, Weijia Li, Stephen Miller, Atsuko Takahashi

Economics: Jon Kevin Crocker

Engineering: Torbjorn Lofqvist (STINT Exchange Scholar), Jayne Morrow

English language and literature: Francie Lin

French studies: Richard Cooper (Kennedy Professor), Aurélia Sort

History: Richard Gassan, Sean Gilsdorf, Sergei Glebov (History/Five College Consortium), Adriane Smith (Mendenhall Fellow)

Italian language and literature: Rosetta Caponetto

Music: Deanna Joseph

Psychology: Benita Jackson

School for Social Work: David Burton

Sociology: Paul Lopes

DirectoryCalendarCampus MapContact UsSite A-Z