Smith College Admission Academics Student Life About Smith news Offices
Smith eDigest
Submit an Idea
Five College Calendar
News Publications
Planning an Event
Contact Us
News & Events

Student Fellowship Alternates, Finalists and Faculty Mentors

The following is a list of Smith students who were strongly considered for fellowships, along with all fellowship faculty mentors, without whom these impressive results would not be possible:

Beineke finalist
Jessica Lawson ’05

Beineke faculty mentor:
Dean Margaret Bruzelius

Blumberg faculty mentors:
Howard Gold, Jocelyne Kolb, Thalia Pandiri, Peter Bloom

Boren Alternates
Nadia Benbernou ’06, Hungary
Shana Montrose ’06, Mexico and Cuba
Camille Whitney ’06, Argentina

Boren faculty mentors:
Mlada Bukovansky, Howard Gold, Katherine Halvorsen, Tandeka Nkiwane

DAAD faculty mentors:
Mary Paddock, Gertraud Gutzmann, Margaret Zelljadt

Freeman-Asia Fellowship faculty mentor:
Dean Alison Noyes

Fulbright Finalists:
Emily Jacobs ’04, United Kingdom
Alina Lucila-Osmunson ’01, Philippines.
Elizabeth Miller ’04, Bolivia
Mary Sagaria ’04, Finland

Fulbright faculty mentors:
Maryjane Wraga, CDO Acting Director Jane Sommer; Paula Varsano, Margaret Zelljadt, Greg White, Bosiljka Glumac, Lucy Mule, Shizuka Hsieh, Joseph McVeigh, Luc Gilleman, Ruth Solie, Steve Tilley

Gates-Cambridge Scholarship Pending:
Lauma Skruzmane ’04

Gates-Cambridge faculty mentors:
Mlada Bukovansky, Adam Hall, William Oram

Gilman Scholarship faculty mentor:
Dean Alison Noyes

Goldwater Scholarship sponsor:
Thomas Litwin

Iota Sigma Pi Gladys Anderson Emerson Scholarship nominator:
Kate Queeney

Javits Fellowship alternate:
Alex Clair Null ’01

Javits faculty recommenders:
Roger Kaufman, Karen Pfeifer

Luce finalist:
Megan Gardner ’98

Luce Faculty mentor:
Dean Margaret Bruzelius

Mellon Fellowship faculty mentor:
Justina Gregory

Mellon-Mays Fellowship faculty coordinator:
Ann Ferguson

NSF Fellowships recommenders and faculty mentors:
Roger Kaufman, Karen Pfeifer, Donna Riley, Suzannah Howe, Domenico Grasso, Borjana Mikic, Glenn Ellis, Andrew Guswa

Rhodes Scholarship finalist:
Emily Jacobs ’04, Neuroscience

Rhodes faculty mentor:
Rob Dorit

Truman Fellowship finalist:
Rachel Balsham ’05

Truman faculty mentors:
Marc Lendler, Don Baumer

Udall Scholarship faculty mentor:
Leslie King

University of Indiana Minority Fellowship mentors:
Kevin Quashie, Marguerite Harrison

Vose Scholarship faculty mentor:
John Davis

DirectoryCalendarCampus MapContact UsSite A-Z