Smith College Admission Academics Student Life Offices

Bulletin board
Submit an item
Campaign update
Five College calendar
AcaMedia archive
NewsSmith archive
News release archive
News office
Planning an event
Contact us

50 New Faculty Members Join Smith Community

In addition to several new administrators on campus, a host of new faculty members has joined the Smith ranks this fall.

Faculty members have been added to almost every academic sector of campus—the humanities, the sciences, social sciences, art and the performing arts; more than 50 new academicians in all—including one who doubles as Smith’s president—serving 27 different departments.

Below is a list of new faculty members and their respective departments. Watch this site for subsequent profiles on new Smith community members.

English language and literature: President Carol T. Christ; Nicole Aljoe, Mendenhall fellow; Douglas Bauer, Elizabeth Drew Professor; Michelle Hoover; Beth Kissileff

Spanish and Portuguese: Fernando Castanedo; Yvonne Farino; Jenny Jaeckel; Eva Juarros-Daussa; Jorge Abril-Sanchez (teaching assistant)

Italian language and literature: Federica Anichini; Maria Focarete

Comparative literature: Harry Berger, Jr., Kennedy Professor; Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill, Neilson Professor

Religion: Daniel Brown

Theatre: Hillary Haft Bucs; Normi Noel

History: Darcy Buerkle; Tim Carmichael; Christine Dee; Rama Sundari Mantena; Patrick Shorb

Anthropology: Sara Busdiecker, Mendenhall Fellow; Krista Harper

Computer Science/engineering: Judith Cardell

French language and literature: Christophe Camard; Candace Walton

Women’s studies: Myriam Chancy, Meridians editor; Wendy Kolmar

Dance: Mark Davis

Chemistry: Maureen Fagan

Exercise and sports studies: Esther Haskvitz

Jewish studies: Yehudit Heller; Holly Snyder

East Asian languages and literatures: Shin-Yi Kao; JinBae Hong (teaching assistant); Reiko Kato, (teaching assistant)

Psychology: Eric Hurley; Veronica Naverrete-Vivero; Andra Rose

Sociology: Chrys Ingraham; Leslie King, sociology/environmental studies

Mathematics: Yoonjin Lee

Classical languages and literatures: Jessamyn Lewis

Astronomy: James Lowenthal

Public policy: Paul Newlin

Economics: Roisin O’Sullivan

Art: Rebecca Senf; Frazer Ward

Afro-American studies: W.S. Tkweme; Tracy Vaughn; Heather Williams, Wilson Fellow

Biological sciences: Carolyn Wetzel

Search Campus Directory Contact Smith Site Map About Smith Campus Map

Smith College // Northampton, Massachusetts 01063 // (413) 585-2170
© 2002 Smith College // Please send comments to:
Notice of Nondiscrimination // Page maintained by the Office of College Relations