College Bids Adieu to 13 Retiring Faculty Members

Every year, the president and provost host a reception for retiring faculty members to honor their scholarly contributions to the college and their disciplines—and their support for their students and the campus community.

At this year’s reception in May, toasts were offered by President Kathleen McCartney, Provost Katherine Rowe and a number of Smith faculty members in celebration of 13 retiring faculty colleagues. (Photos of the event can be seen on Facebook.)

This year’s retiring Smith faculty members are:

* Martha A. Ackelsberg, William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Government and Professor of the Study of Women and Gender

* Susan C. Bourque, Esther Booth Wiley Professor of Government

* Robert Buchele, professor of economics

* Nora F. Crow, professor of English language and literature

* Mary Murphy, senior lecturer in mathematics and statistics

* Nola Reinhardt, professor of economics

* Thomas H. Rohlich, professor of East Asian languages and literatures

* Marilyn Schuster, Andrew W. Mellon Professor in the Humanities (the study of women and gender)

* Sharon Cadman Seelig, Roe/Straut Professor in the Humanities (English language and literature)

* Richard Jonathan Sherr, Caroline L. Wall ’27 Professor of Music

* Susan R. Van Dyne, professor of the study of women and gender

* Catherine Woronzoff-Dashkoff, senior lecturer in Russian language and literature

* Ann Zulawski, Sydenham Clark Parsons Professor of History and Latin American Studies