Green Smith
Office of Campus Sustainability
Operational Initiatives
Student sustainability
Alumnae Initiatives
Environmental Sustainability

Committee on Sustainability

The Committee on Sustainability is concerned with the best long-term use of finite natural resources and the college's impact on the local, regional and global environment. It identifies, implements and evaluates approaches for increasing Smith's commitment to sustainability in all areas of the campus, including (but not limited to) construction, transportation, materials and energy use, waste management, purchasing, investment and the campus curriculum. It seeks to maintain an holistic perspective focused on systemic changes and institutional transformation to aid the college in achieving the greatest efficiencies in natural resource use and pollution prevention.


The Committee on Sustainability meets regularly during the academic year. A schedule of meetings is established each semester. Meetings are open to all members of the Smith community. Fall 2017 meetings will start later in September. Stay tuned for the dates and locations!                 

Committee on Sustainability Members

Alexander Barron, Assistant Professor, Environmental Science & Policy

Timothy Johnson, Director, Smith College Botanic Garden

Denise McKahn, Associate Professor, Engineering

Roger Mosier, Associate Vice President, Facilities

Donna Lisker, Dean of the College

Amy Rhodes, Professor, Geosciences

Bob Newton, ex officio as Director of CEEDS

Dano Weisbord, Director of Sustainability and Campus Planning

Student membership TBD