Smith College Admission Academics Student Life About Smith news Offices
Faculty Council


Faculty Council is a committee of five elected faculty members whose purpose is to represent the best interests of the faculty in all aspects of the college. According to the Faculty Code, the Council “shall take an overall institutional view for planning, communicating with the Board of Trustees, and for reviewing and integrating the policy decisions of faculty committees and administrative offices.”

The Code also asserts that Faculty Council “shall confer with administrative officers on all matters pertaining to budget, financial aid, governance, general welfare of the College, and general faculty personnel issues.” Lastly and largely, Faculty Council “shall serve as a forum for faculty ideas and concerns.”


The members of Faculty Council for 2018-19, and the committees on which they serve (per Faculty Code Section 23.b.), are:


Frazer Ward (2021)




In Fall 2018, Faculty Council meets on Wednesdays from 11:00 p.m.-1 p.m. in Campus Center 204.

We welcome questions or comments via e-mail.

Faculty Committees Elections

Hare Method of Voting FAQ


Committee on Grievance


Committee on Grievance Operating Procedures (PDF)

Guidelines for Submission of Petitions to the Committee on Grievance (PDF)

Council Mission from
the Faculty Code

Login Required

Agendas & Minutes

Reports & Memos


DirectoryCalendarCampus MapVirtual TourContact UsSite A-Z