SearchDirectoryHelpHome


..................................................................................................................................................................................

 

3rd Annual Workshop in

MACROECONOMIC RESEARCH AT LIBERAL ARTS COLLEGES

 

Home   |   Call for Papers   |   Schedule   |   Getting Here   |  About Smith

 


WORKSHOP SCHEDULE

Tuesday, August 7th

1:00 – 2:00 pm

Arrival and Registration (Seelye Hall – 2nd floor corridor)
   
2:00 – 3:45 pm

Session 1

Monetary Economics and Central Banking  (Seeyle Hall 201)

Chair:  Marc Tomljanovich (mtomljan@drew.edu)

Kenneth Kuttner (Kenneth.Kuttner@oberlin.edu) “Do Markets Care Who Chairs the Central Bank?”  (with Adam S. Posen)

Discussant: Michael Hanson (mshanson@wesleyan.edu)

Edward Gamber (gambere@lafayette.edu) “Relative Improvements in Forecasting Accuracy (Fed versus Private Sector):  Implications for Today’s Yield Curve"  (with Julie K. Smith)

Discussant:  Jim Hartley (jhartley@mtholyoke.edu)

Pavel Kapinos (pkapinos@carleton.edu ) “Threshold Estimates of Asymmetries in the Taylor Rule: Evidence from the Greenbook Forecasts”  (with Michael Hanson)

Discussant:  Julie Smith (smithjk@lafayette.edu)

   
3:45 – 4:00 pm Break (Seelye Hall 202)
   
4:00 – 5:45 pm

Session 2

Growth and Development  (Seelye Hall 201)

Chair:  Roisin O’Sullivan
(rosulliv@email.smith.edu)

Ann Owen (aowen@hamilton.edu). “Do All Countries Follow the Same Growth Process?"
(with Lewis Davis and Julio Videras)


Discussant: Paul Johnson (pajohnson@vassar.edu)

Masami Imai (mimai@wesleyan.edu) “Related Lending and Financial Development” (with Robert Cull and Stephen Haber)

Discussant:  Lewis Davis (davisl@union.edu)

Jamus Jerome Lim (jamus.lim@centre.edu)  “Political Economic Pressures in Financial Crisis Resolution

Discussant:  Robert Rebelein (rebelein@vassar.edu)

6:30 pm Workshop Dinner, (Tyler Hall Dining Room)

Followed by panel session “Strategies for Combining Good-Quality Research and Teaching”

Moderator:  Marc Tomljanovich, Drew University

Panelists

Brock Blomberg, Claremont McKenna College

Janet Ceglowski, Bryn Mawr College

Philip Jefferson, Swarthmore College

Roger Kaufman, Smith College


Wednesday, August 8th

8:30 – 9:00 am Continental Breakfast (Seelye Hall 202)
   
9:00 – 10:45 am Session 3

International Economics  (Seelye Hall 201)

Chair:  Robert Rebelein (rebelein@vassar.edu)

Indradeep Ghosh (ighosh@haverford.edu)  “Imperfect Substitutability and the Current Account

Discussant:  Pavel Kapinos (pkapinos@carleton.edu)

Slavi Slavov (slavi@pomona.edu)  “Does Monetary Integration Facilitate the Net Flow of Capital Among Countries?

Discussant: Patricia Schneider (pschneid@mtholyoke.edu)

Peter Mikek (mikekp@wabash.edu)  “Symmetry of Shocks in Old and New EU Members Through Time"

Discussant: Nicole Simpson (nsimpson@mail.colgate.edu)

10:45 – 11:00 am Break (Seelye Hall 202)
   
11:00 – 11:45 pm Breakout Sessions by area of teaching interest  (Seelye Hall 201, 202, 304 and 313)

Topic  Facilitator
   
General Macro: Robert Rebelein
Money and Banking: Marc Tomljanovich
International:  Nicole Simpson
Growth: Ann Owen
11:45 – 1:00 pm Lunch (Neilson Library Browsing Room)
   
1:00 pm – 2:45 pm Session 4

Topics in Macroeconomics  (Seelye Hall 201)

Chair:  N Simpson

(nsimpson@mail.colgate.edu)

Chad Sparber (csparber@mail.colgate.edu) “Comparative Advantages and Gains from Immigration” (with Giovanni Peri)


Discussant:  Geoffrey Woglom (grwoglom@amherst.edu)


Gregory A. Krohn (krohn@bucknell.edu)  “An Economic Analysis of Contemporary Community Currencies in the United States

Discussant:  Marc Tomljanovich (mtomljan@drew.edu)

Felicia Ionescu (fionescu@mail.colgate.edu)  “Effects of Bankruptcy Rules on Student Loan Default Rates and College Enrollments

Discussant: Mark Hopkins (mhopkins@gettysburg.edu)


   


 

..................................................................................................................................................................................

Copyright © 2007 Smith College // Northampton, Massachusetts 01063 // (413) 584-2700
Site created by Dolce Design // Send comments to webmaster@email.smith.edu
Notice of Nondiscrimination // Copyright Information // Last update: February 1, 2007