Close Window

Nominations for the 2016-2017 Annual Engel Lectureship

Dear Colleagues:

The Lecture Committee will soon begin the task of making their recommendation for the 2016-2017 Katharine Asher Engel Lecturer, and we invite your nominations for this honor.

As you know, the Engel Lectureship is granted to a Smith College faculty member who has made a significant contribution in her or his field. It is an opportunity for us to recognize the scholarly excellence of a colleague. The committee attempts to see that over the years the lectureship is distributed equitably throughout the divisions; hence, we strongly encourage nominations from all divisions of the faculty.

We invite you to suggest to the committee Smith faculty members you think deserving of consideration. Please accompany your nominations with supporting material, such as information on publications, exhibitions or other achievements deserving our special attention. The committee will supplement this information with a CV on file. If you wish to re-nominate a colleague, we would welcome new or additional information to support an earlier nomination. Nominations should be submitted by April 8, 2016 to Jayne Mercier (

For your information, a description of the lecture fund and a list of Engel lecturers since the lectureship's creation can be found here.

2015-2016 Lecture Committee
Jeffrey Ahlman, History
Anna Botta, Italian Language & Literature
Floyd Cheung, English Language & Literature
Elizabeth Jamieson, Chemistry, Chair
Cristina Suarez, Chemistry
Lena Wilson 16, Student Events Committee