About the Department
Five College Theater
The Major
The Minor
Masters Program
Graduate Student Profiles
Student Research
Faculty and Staff
Performing Arts Calendar

Related Links


The Five College Dance Department combines the programs of Amherst College, Hampshire College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College and the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. The faculty operates as a consortium, coordinating curricula, performances and services.

The Five College Dance Department supports a variety of philosophical approaches to dance and provides opportunity of students to experience a wide spectrum of performance styles and techniques. The Five College Dance Department was formed for the mutual benefit of all member institutions. The faculty operates as one department unifying its educational mission to include a well-balanced curriculum emphasizing a broad integration of technical, creative, historical and analytical aspects of dance; a wide variety of philosophical approaches to teaching; a diversity of course offerings enabling students to experience the numerous performance styles, techniques and theoretical perspectives; and shared resources which provide for a rich artistic and scholarly environment.

The collaborative structure of the Five College Dance Department provides a large and diverse community of colleagues with whom to share pedagogic as well as artistic perspectives. Students may take a dance course on any of the five campuses and receive credit at their home institution, and course offerings are coordinated among the campuses to facilitate registration, interchange, and student travel. The Five College Dance Department is a nationally recognized model for excellence in dance in higher education.