Skip Navigation

About Rally Day 2017

Students at Rally Day 2017

Five extraordinary alumnae were honored for their contributions to their communities and the world as 2017 Smith Medalists.

This year’s medalists are social activist Gloria Steinem ’56, economist Laura D’Andrea Tyson ’69, cardiac pulmonologist and surgeon Vickie Shannon ’79, broadcast news executive Ellen Weiss ’81 and winemaker/winery owner Helen Keplinger ’94.

The honorees received their medals at Rally Day, Thursday, February 23.

Gloria Steinem ’56

Laura D’Andrea Tyson ’69

Vickie Shannon ’79

Ellen Weiss ’81

Helen Keplinger ’94