Skip Navigation


The Smith College Council on Community Policy is a broadly representative, deliberative group that meets to consider matters that concern the campus community. In its deliberations, and working in concert with others on campus as appropriate, the "College Council" addresses issues of common concern. Its mission concerns the well-being of the community -- its capacity for collegiality and the pursuit of the commonwealth to support the education of women. In its role of overseeing community issues, the council will:

  • Evaluate college community policies in response to specific questions raised by members of the community
  • Make recommendations to the President for changes in college community policies
  • Identify ways to educate the community and provide guidance for dealing with community issues
  • Address issues of campus climate, diversity, and the composition of the community
  • Serve as a sounding board for students, faculty, and staff who are concerned about matters affecting the college community
  • Promote the use of consensus-building as a mechanism for reviewing and resolving issues
  • Act as an advisory group to the President and other campus offices and committees
  • Communicate its findings and recommendations on a regular basis to the wider community

The council will normally meet once a month during the academic year; and these meetings are open to all members of the Smith community. A quorum for official business of the council will normally be 16 members. The council may also hold open forums for the entire campus when warranted. Members of the Smith community may forward community policy issues to the council for its consideration.

Composition, Selection Process and Guidelines

1. Name — Smith College Council on Community Policy ("College Council").

2. Chair — The College Council will be chaired/convened by a member of the council. The chair will be elected annually by the President. 

3. Composition — Council members hold seats either by virtue of their office or by appointment, as follows. (See Section 4 for selection criteria.)

  • The President or the Provost (non-voting).
  • Six administrators.
  • Six faculty members.
  • Six students.
  • Six staff members.
  • One representative of Smith College alumnae.
  • Two representatives from the City of Northampton.

4. Method of selection and guidance for appointments — The selection of members for the College Council should be consistent with the overall mission of the council to be broadly representative and reflective of the composition of the Smith College community. Faculty Council, Staff Council and the Student Government Association identify potential appointees to serve. Appointments should be made no later than August 15 for the following academic year's council. Two- to three-year terms are preferable; terms can be renewed or extended as appropriate (particularly in the case of such representatives as the appointees of the Mayor of Northampton); and terms should be staggered.

  • The President or the Provost will hold a non-voting seat on the council.
  • Six administrators:
    Dean of the College.
    Vice President for Public Affairs.
    Director of Institutional Diversity.
    Director of College Relations.
    Two other administrators, appointed by the Office of the President.
  • Six faculty members:
    Five faculty, including at least one from each division and at least two untenured, nominated by the Faculty Council.
    One faculty member or administrator from the Smith College School for Social Work, appointed by the Dean of the School for Social Work.
  • Six students:
    Two from the Student Government Association Cabinet.
    Two appointed by the Student Government Association Elections and Appointments Committee.
    One appointed by the Ada Comstock Scholars class cabinet.
    One from the Unity organizations steering committee.
  • Six staff members, appointed by the Staff Council Steering Committee:
    Two (preferably) from the Staff Council Steering Committee.
    Four other staff members.
  • One representative of Smith College alumnae, appointed by the Executive Director of the Smith College Alumnae Association (this position can be renewed or extended as appropriate).
  • Two representatives of the City of Northampton, appointed by the Mayor of Northampton.

5. Reserved meeting time — the first or second Friday every month at noon (or another convenient day of the week), with (normally) six meetings per year (September, October, November, December, February, March, April).

6. Committees of the College Council — normally, each committee would include at least 4-6 council members, preferably representing the major constituencies of the community (faculty, students, staff); in addition, interested members of the college community may participate on the council's committees (by invitation or as volunteers).

A. Agenda Items

The chair(s) will receive agenda items and issues of concern from the members of the council and the community.

B. Communications Liaison

The CCCP will select a member who will communicate with the Smith College community about the business of the College Council.

C. Subcommittees

The CCCP may establish subcommittees as the need arises to deal with specific issues.


Adopted April 8, 1999, by the 1998–99 ad hoc Community Policy Committee (Revised May 6, 1999, and November 20, 1999)

Approved December 13, 1999 by the 1999–2000 Interim Smith College Council on Community Policy (Revised March 10, 2006, and November 21, 2014)