About Staff Council
Meet Your Staff Council
Get Involved
Meetings & Minutes
All-Campus Committees
Staff Questions Answered
Community Service
The Staff Council Chronicle
Upcoming Events
Contact Us
Bulletin Board
Bulletin Board

Related Link

Welcome to our Staff Council Virtual Bulletin Board! In addition to the e-mail/print version of the Chronicle that you will receive once each semester, you'll be able to read the latest staff news here, including staff questions answered, volunteer opportunities, and important staff updates.

Staff Council All Staff Forum

Meet others from around campus, bring questions and suggestions for Staff Council, and hear useful staff updates. Free lunch provided for the first 50 attendees. Wednesday, February 10, 12-1 PM in Neilson Browsing Room.

Staff Council Wine and Cheese

Meet colleaugues from across campus and enjoy some wine and cheese in the Alumnae House Living Room. Thursday, February 11, 3:30-5:30 PM.

Stay Tuned for More Upcoming Events!

Thanks to everyone who made our Soup and Spuds event such a success - and don't worry if you missed it. Staff Council Activities Committee has a busy semester planned: an outdoor film screening, a bus trip, and an ice cream social. Don't miss these fun ways to meet your Staff Council and other Smith College colleagues.

Smith's New Website

Smith has started the process of creating a new website. Make sure your opinion is heard by filling out the new website survey!

2nd Annual Staff Day of Service a Huge SuccessStacey Anasazi (Museum of Art), Liz Hait (Kahn Institute), Juliet Hansen (Development), Linda Gregory (Libraries), Naomi Miller (Engineering), and Ashli Stempel (Executive Education)

On May 6, 2015, six staff members volunteered at Nuestras Raices in Holyoke for a Day of Service. Jonathan Surrency, Volunteer Coordinator, gave the group of tour of the farm and oversaw the work as they spent a beautiful spring day wielding shovels, hammers and pickaxes to dig trenches. The volunteers also replanted peppers and planted spinach in the Community Youth Program garden. All ended the day with a good feeling of making a positive difference in our community.

Staff Member Jen Blackburn on Jeopardy!

Jen Blackburn, administrative assistant for the Poetry Center and Department of French Studies, competed on the popular quiz show "Jeopardy!" Said Jen, "Overall, the experience was fantastic! Everyone here at Smith has made the experience so much fun, and I'm just bowled over by all the nice notes and phone calls that have come my way." Hear more about Jen's time on "Jeopardy" in our November issue of "The Chronicle!"

See photos from the "Spuds and Soup Bar" on 2/27!

Information Regarding USPS Express Mail

Mail Services has been informed by the Northampton Post Office that they cannot guarantee any Express Overnight Mail received after 2 p.m. The Northampton Post Office picks up mail from the college Monday through Friday around 3:30 p.m. Any Express Mail processed by the Northampton Post Office before 2 p.m. will receive the Express Mail money-back guarantee. However, Mail Services offers UPS Next Day Air for all your overnight mailing needs, which is guaranteed. For more information, please contact Jerine Blissett at jblisset@smith.edu.

Staff Council Nominations

Interested in joining Staff Council, or know someone who would be a great addition to the group? Please let us know! Just submit name(s) here and someone will be in contact with more details.

Liberal Arts Luncheons

Staff members are welcome to attend Liberal Arts Luncheons, which are held Thursdays during the semester, from 12:00 to 1:00 p.m. in Seelye Hall 201 (unless otherwise noted). Presentations are sponsored by the Committee on Academic Priorities and allow the campus community to learn about the specific research interests and work of faculty members.

A buffet lunch is hosted by the Office of the Provost/Dean of the Faculty and served in Seelye Hall 207 at 11:45 a.m. The talks begin at 12:10 p.m. across the hall in 201. You can find more information, including the schedule, here.