Smith College School for Social Work BannerWeb
Our Mission Statement
Just the Facts
SSW Offices
A Learning Community
Statement of Anti-Racism
Supporting Needs of Servicemembers
History of the School
Alumni Association
Make a Gift
SSW Buzz
Alumni Association

Related Link

Nominations & Awards

Thesis Awards

The Alumni Association has established thesis awards designed to support excellence in student research and are awarded on the basis of merit. Criteria considered in the selection of awardees include: originality of thought, strength of argument and a well planned research design. Proposals are evaluated in a blind-review process.


The application deadline is March 31, 2016. (POSTMARKED)

Roger Miller Dissertation Grant

The Roger Miller Dissertation Grant was established to support the highest level of scholarly dissertation research on at-risk populations by Doctoral candidates at Smith College School for Social Work. This annual grant was established by the Executive Committee of the School's Alumni Association as a tribute to, and in honor of, Professor Emeritus Roger Miller.


The application deadline is May 9, 2016. (POSTMARKED)

Day-Garrett Award

The Day-Garrett Award, established in 1978, is presented annually to one person or more who have been outstanding contributors to professional social work and who have been significant members of the Smith College School for Social Work educational community. By a member of the Smith community, we mean former administrators, part and/or full- three-quarter time faculty and graduates of the school.

The award is to be given to those who, in the judgment of the Committee, have personified in their lives and service to the community the high purpose of professional service for which the school is renowned. This can include publication, teaching, administration, direct service, innovative programming and creation of policy.


The nomination deadline is February 15, 2016.

Award recipients