Home
About the Concentration
Application
Faculty
Courses
Study Abroad and Language Programs
Internships
Prizes
events & Events
Resources
South Asia Concentration

Faculty

Smith and the Five Colleges have a wide variety of faculty involved in the study of South Asia.

Director of the South Asia Concentration

Nalini Bhushan
Professor, Philosophy
nbhushan@smith.edu
(413) 585-3421

Participating Faculty

Elisabeth Armstrong
Associate Professor, Study of Women and Gender
earmstro@smith.edu
(413) 585-3634

Payal Banerjee
Assistant Professor, Sociology
pbanerje@smith.edu
(413) 585-3677

Jay L. Garfield
Doris Silbert Professor in the Humanities and Professor of Philosophy on leave 2014-2015
jgarfield@smith.edu
(413) 585-3649

Ambreen Hai
Professor, English Language & Literature
ahai@smith.edu
(413) 585-3311

Pinky Hota
Associate Professor, Anthropology
phota@smith.edu
(413) 585-3269

Leslie Jaffe
College Physician & Director, Medical Services
ljaffe@smith.edu
(413) 585-2806

Constance Kassor
Lecturer, Religion
ckassor@smith.edu
(413) 585-3269

Marylin Rhie
Jesse Wells Professor of Art and Professor of East Asian Studies
mrhie@smith.edu
(413) 585-3138

Andy Rotman
Professor, Religion
arotman@smith.edu
(413) 585-3348

Margaret Sarkissian
Professor, Music
msarkiss@smith.edu
(413) 585-3198

Charles Staelin
Professor, Economics
cstaelin@smith.edu
(413) 585-3621

Vis Taraz
Assistant Professor, Economics
vtaraz@smith.edu
(413) 585-3588