Core Goals
Advisory Board
Board of Counselors
Teaching Arts Lunches
Teaching Circles
Pedagogical Articles by Smith Authors
In the News
For New Faculty
For Students
Board of Counselors

The Sherrerd Center for Teaching & Learning oversees the Faculty Board of Counselors, appointed by the Provost. The Board includes senior faculty members who provide individual and collective extra-departmental mentoring to tenure-track faculty members. The Counselors are also willing to meet with any recently appointed members of the faculty who seek advice. In addition, the Board, working with the Sherrerd Center, advises senior members of the faculty and administrators on their work with newer colleagues. For further information on the Board, please contact Floyd Cheung, the Director of the Sherrerd Center (fcheung@smith.edu) or any of the 2014-2015 members listed below:

Board of Counselors, 2014-2015

John Brady (Geosciences)

Nalini Bhushan (Philosophy)

Patrick Coby (Government)

Laura Katz (Biology)

Borjana Mikic (Engineering)

Bill Peterson (Psychology)

Vera Shevzov (Religion)

Elizabeth Spelman (Philosophy)

Charles Staelin (Economics)

Michael Thurston (English Language & Literature)