Home
Contact Us
Board of Prehealth Advisers
Exploring Health Professions
Planning & Preparing
The Application Process
Funding Your Education
Events
Frequently Asked Questions
For International Students
Board of Prehealth Advisers

The members of the Board of Prehealth Advisers are appointed by the president of the college and work closely with the staff of the Lazarus Center for Career Development.

Nalini Easwar
Professor, Physics
General prehealth advising
neaswar@smith.edu

Daryl Gehman
Assistant Director, Lazarus Center for Career Development
Resume and personal statement review, mock interviews
dgehman@smith.edu

David Gorin
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
General prehealth advising
dgorin@smith.edu

Adam Hall
Professor, Biological Sciences & Program Director of Neuroscience
General prehealth advising
ahall@smith.edu

Leslie Jaffe, M.D.
Director of Health Services
Dr. Jaffe can speak to the experience of medical school and being a physician. He does not do advising.
ljaffe@smith.edu

Katie Lipp
Prehealth Program Director
General prehealth advising, application support
klipp@smith.edu

Beth Powell
Senior Lecturer, Psychology & Neuroscience
General prehealth advising
bpowell@smith.edu

Kevin Shea, Chair
Professor, Chemistry
General prehealth advising
kshea@smith.edu

Christine White-Ziegler
Professor, Biological Sciences & Biochemistry
General prehealth advising
cwhitezi@smith.edu

 

Advising

The Board provides advice to help you prepare to successfully apply for admission to professional school. We can advise on appropriate courses to take, balancing academic and extracurricular work, developing a timetable to allow you to achieve the goals you have in mind, and—when the time comes—we guide you through the application process.

All of the members of the Board of Prehealth Advisers are pleased to talk with you. If you're not absolutely sure you want to pursue a career in the health professions, or if you're sure but are wondering about the timetable you should follow, feel free to set up a meeting with one of us. All conversations are confidential.