Home
Contact Us
Board of Prehealth Advisers
Exploring Health Professions
Planning & Preparing
The Application Process
Events
Frequently Asked Questions
For International Students
Board of Prehealth Advisers

The members of the Board of Prehealth Advisers are appointed by the president of the college and work closely with the staff of the Lazarus Center for Career Development.

Kevin Shea, Chair
Associate Professor, Chemistry
kshea@smith.edu

Nalini Easwar
Professor, Physics
neaswar@smith.edu

Daryl Gehman
Assistant Director, Lazarus Center for Career Development
dgehman@smith.edu

David Gorin
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
dgorin@smith.edu

Adam Hall
Associate Professor, Biological Sciences & Program Director of Neuroscience
ahall@smith.edu

Leslie Jaffe, M.D.
Director of Health Services
ljaffe@smith.edu

Katie Lipp
Program Director for Health Professions and Mentoring Programs
klipp@smith.edu

Beth Powell
Senior Lecturer, Psychology & Neuroscience
bpowell@smith.edu

Christine White-Ziegler
Professor, Biological Sciences & Biochemistry
cwhitezi@smith.edu

 

Advising

The Board provides advice to help you prepare to successfully apply for admission to professional school. We can advise on appropriate courses to take, balancing academic and extracurricular work, developing a timetable to allow you to achieve the goals you have in mind, and—when the time comes—we guide you through the application process.

All of the members of the Board of Prehealth Advisers are pleased to talk with you. If you're not absolutely sure you want to pursue a career in the health professions, or if you're sure but are wondering about the timetable you should follow, feel free to set up a meeting with one of us. All conversations are confidential.