Wright Hall Auditorium
7:30 PM


Internationally acclaimed poet Eavan Boland is the author of twelve volumes of poetry. Her work has appeared in publications such as The New Yorker, the Atlantic, and American Poetry Review.

Boland is a regular reviewer for Irish Times, is on the board of the Irish Arts Council and a member of the Irish Academy of Letters. She has received the Lannan Award for Poetry and has recently published a volume of prose called Object Lessons: The Life of the Woman and the Poet in Our Time. Boland is a Professor of English at Stanford University.






John M. Greene Hall
7:30 PM



Poet John Haines homesteaded in Alaska for more than twenty years, and has taught at Ohio University, George Washington University, and the University of Cincinnati. Haines is the recipient of many awards and honors, including two Guggenheim Fellowships, and National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Library of Congress. The author of more than ten collections of poetry, he has also published a book of essays entitled Fables and Distances: New and Selected Essays (1996), and a memoir, The Stars, The Snow, The Fire: Twenty-five Years in the Northern Wilderness (1989).






Neilson Browsing Room
7:30 PM

Denise Duhamel is the author of more than ten books and chapbooks of poetry, with subjects ranging from Barbie dolls, Inuit mythology, fairy tales, to pop songs. Her most recent book is The Star-Spangled Banner (winner of the Crab Orchard Poetry Prize, Southern Illinois University Press, 1999). Her other books and chapbooks of poetry include: Exquisite Politics (with Maureen Seaton, Tia Chucha Press, 1997), Kinky (Orchises Press, 1997), Girl Soldier (Garden Street Press, 1996), and How the Sky Fell. (Pearl Editions, 1996.)



Maureen Seaton's books of poetry include Furious Cooking (University of Iowa, 1996), winner of the Iowa Prize for poetry and the Lambda Book Award; The Sea among the Cupboards (New Rivers Press, 1992), winner of the Capricorn Award and The Society of Midland Authors Award; and Fear of Subways (Eighth Mountain, 1991), winner of the Eighth Mountain Prize.












Wright Hall Auditorium
7:30 PM

Award winning African-American poet Sonia Sanchez is the author of more than a dozen books of poetry. She is the recipient of numerous awards and prizes, including the Lucretia Mott Award, the Pennsylvania Governor's Award for Excellence in the Humanities, a National Endowment for the Arts Award, and a Pew Fellowship in the Arts.

She lectures both nationally and internationally on Black culture and literature, women's liberation, and peace and racial justice.






Neilson Browsing Room
7:30 PM

Acclaimed African-American poet, playwright, and scholar Elizabeth Alexander has read her poetry and lectured all over the country. She has been widely published in such journals and periodicals as The Paris Review, American Poetry Review, The Kenyon Review, The Village Voice, The Women's Review of Books, and The Washington Post.

Rich with visceral surprise, tingling memory, and personal questions which resonate into our country's past and future, Alexander's work has been described by The New York Times as "...a historical mosaic with profound cultural integrity...creating intellectual magic in poem after poem." Alexander was the 1997-98 Grace Hazard Conkling Writer-in-Residence here at Smith, and was the first director of the Poetry Center.









Li-Young Lee has written two books of poetry: The City in Which I Love You (BOA Editions, 1991) , and Rose (1986.) He has also written a memoir entitled The Winged Seed: A Remembrance (Simon and Schuster, 1995). His many honors include a National Endowment for the Arts, and a Guggenheim Foundation fellowship.

Lee has studied and taught at a number of universities, including the University of Pittsburgh, the State University of New York at Brockport, Northwestern University, and the University of Iowa. He currently lives in Chicago with his family.




Fall 2010 - Spring 2011
Fall 2009 - Spring 2010
Fall 2008 - Spring 2009
Fall 2007 - Spring 2008
Fall 2006 - Spring 2007
Fall 2005 - Spring 2006
Fall 2004 - Spring 2005
Fall 2003 - Spring 2004
Fall 2002 - Spring 2003
Fall 2001 - Spring 2002
Fall 2000 - Spring 2001
Fall 1999 - Spring 2000
Fall 1998 - Spring 1999
Fall 1997 - Spring 1998