Distinguished poet Philip Levine is the author of 16 collections of poems, including The Simple Truth, winner of the Pulitzer Prize, What Work Is, winner of the National Book Award, Ashes: Poems New & Old, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award and the first American Book Award for poetry, and, most recently, The Mercy (Alfred A. Knopf, 1999).

Levine was born and raised in Detroit, Michigan, and has lived for many years in Fresno, California and New York City, where he teaches at NYU. Recipient of awards and honors too numerous to mention, he has also published books of essays, translated Gloria Fuertes and Jaime Sabines, and edited The Essential Keats.

Committed "to saving from oblivion what is thought of as ordinary life" (poet Edward Hirsch), Levine's work celebrates memory, family, the working class, and the immigrant experience, and has been an inspiration to a generation of young American poets.

Poetry Center Reading:

Fall 1999



Poems by Philip Levine

Black Stone On Top Of Nothing

Night Words

The Mercy