Jacobson Center Home
Student Services and Resources
Faculty Services and Resourcess
Writing Center Online
Mission Statement
Our Staff
Contact Us and Hours
Links
Our Staff

Related Links

Staff Biographies

Julio Alves is Director of the Center. He has a B.A. in comparative literature and a Ph.D. in applied linguistics, both from Boston University. As needed, he does writing counseling and teaches Eng 118, Eng 119, and IDP 135 (with Andrea Hairston). email: jalves@smith.edu

 

Debra Carney received her B.A. and M.F.A. from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. She administers the Mid-Semester Assessment program and is an MSA Specialist. She also teaches writing and public speaking and administers and teaches in the Writing Counseling Program of the Smith School for Social Work. email: dcarney@smith.edu

 

Holly Davis received a B.A. in English from Wittenberg University and an M. A. Degree in English from the State University of New York at Albany. She completed doctoral study ABD at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. She is a Writing Instructor in the Center and teaches English 118 and specializes in working with English Language Learners. email: hdavis@smith.edu

 

Sara Eddy received her B.A. in English from Connecticut College and her M.A. and Ph.D. from Tufts University. She offers writing counseling in the Center and teaches English 118 and 119. She is also Supervisor for the Peer Writing Tutor Program. email: seddy@smith.edu>

 

Naila Moreira received her B.A in Geology from Amherst College and her Ph.D. in Geology from the University of Michigan. She provides writing counseling in the Center, specialized in science writing; she teaches ENG 118 and ENG 119, and during the summer, she teaches nature and science writing in the Summer Science and Engineering Program. email: nmoreira@smith.edu

 

Peter Sapira received his B.A. in English from San Francisco State and his M.F.A. in English from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. He offers writing counseling in the Center and in the School for Social Work; he teaches English 118 and Public Speaking, and during the summer, he directs the Young Women's Writing Workshop. email: psapira@smith.edu>

 

Gail Thomas iearned a B.S. in Secondary Education (English) from Kutztown University and an M.Ed. from Lesley University. She is a learning specialist and coordinates the tutoring program in the Center. She teaches the AEMES Seminar and Applied Learning Strategies, leads workshops, and meets individually with students for academic coaching. To make an appointment, email: gmthomas@smith.edu

 

Brian Turner received his B.A. from American International College and his M.F.A. from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. He does writing counseling in the Center. email: bturner@smith.edu