About the Program
The Major
The Minor
Study Abroad
Undergraduate Research Opportunities & Awards
Postgraduate Research Opportunities & Awards
Alumnae in Focus
News & Events
East Asian Studies



Advisory Committee

Marnie Anderson
Associate Professor of History

Ernest Benz

Associate Professor of History, Director

Daniel K. Gardner
Dwight W. Morrow Professor of History

Suzanne Gottschang
Associate Professor of Anthropology and East Asian Studies

Jina Kim
Assistant Professor of East Asian Studies

Kimberly Kono
Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Literatures

Marylin Rhie
Professor of East Asian Studies and Jesse Wells Post Professor of Art

Dennis Yasutomo
Esther Cloudman Dunn Professor of Government



Participating Faculty




Steven M. Goldstein

Sophia Smith Professor of Government

Jamie Hubbard
Professor of Religion, Yehan Numata Lecturer in Buddhist Studies, and the Jill Ker Conway Professor of East Asian Studies                    

Maki Hirano Hubbard
Professor of Japanese

Sujane Wu
Associate Professor of Chinese

D. Sabina Knight
Associate Professor of Chinese and Comparative Literature


Thomas Rohlich
Professor of Japanese

Kathleen Gauger

Academic Assistant


Program in East Asian Studies
210 Seelye Hall
Smith College
Northampton, MA 01063

2015-16 Liaisons:

Mallory Durlauf '16

Amie (Yinan) Song '16